Skip to main content

THE PACIFIC WORLD: : Primary Sources

A Junior-Senior History Seminar taught by Brad Cartwright, PhD.

Primary sources

 
UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT EL PASO LIBRARY
C.L. SONNICHSEN SPECIAL COLLECTIONS DEPARTMENT
 
Examples of primary source materials for the history of the Pacific
        
Personal papers:
            Terry de la Mesa Allen papers, John H. McNeely papers (contains material on Ferrocarril México Noroeste, Chihuahua al Pacifico RR), Tom Lea papers (includes scrapbook, photos of WWII trip to Asia), J.L. Tucker letter, 1898.
 
Photographic collections:
             Nathan Gold photographs, WWII photograph collection, Portfolio of Views of the Philippines,                and Samuel D. Forwood photograph albums. 
 
Maps:
            Fremont expedition maps
            Assorted historical maps of Mexico
 
Oral Histories:
            Over 900 oral history interviews, some dealing with WWII experiences. 
Full text of most UTEP Institute of Oral History available at http://digitalcommons.utep.edu/oral_history/
 
Government records:
             State Department records on microfilm or in print:  examples include Consular dispatches to various cities, Notes sent to legations, Records of the Department of State relating to internal affairs of Asia (or specific countries), Records of the United State legation in China, 1843-1945, etc.   
            U.S. Government Serial Set Online:  ProQuest Congressional Publications (U.S. Serial Set and Serial Set Maps) (ProQuest)         
 
Newspapers online, some as subscriptions from the Library’s website:
            Library of Congress:  Chronicling America http://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/
                        Includes full text of many regional American newspapers.
            NewspaperArchive.com:  Newspapers from around the world, some very early.
            New York Times, 1851-2008.  From Proquest Historical newspapers.
            Los Angeles Times, 1881-1988.  From Proquest Historical newspapers.
            The Times, 1790-1905. From Palmer’s Full-text Online (Proquest)

Subject Guide

Claudia Rivers's picture
Claudia Rivers
Contact:
Library, Sixth Floor
915/747-6725

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |