Skip to main content

Newspapers: Getting Started

Welcome

The UTEP Library has a substantial collection of regional, national and international newspapers in print (paper/microfilm) and online (through database subscriptions). 

Current newspapers are kept in the Current Periodicals section located on the second floor (entry level). Older print and microfilm issues are kept on the Media and Microforms department on the first floor.

Policy of usage: Print copies of newspapers are not loaned out of library premises.

Searching for Current Newspapers

This video will teach you how to search for newspaper titles in the classic catalog and to search for current newspaper articles on selected databases.

Searching for Historical Newspapers

This video will help you search for historical newspaper articles using selected databases available at the UTEP Library.

Difference b/w popular, trade, scholarly and newspaper articles.

This video will help you differentiate between popular, trade, scholarly  and newspaper articles.

Find Newspapers by Title

Search under Journal or Newspaper Title Search in our classic catalog search options. Records for newspapers will tell you if UTEP Library has access to a particular newspaper in print, microfilm, or online. Some newspaper records can be quite complicated, as newspapers may have many title or publication changes.

 

 To search for online only make a title search on our  E Journals portal.  

Below is a list of Newspaper Titles held at UTEP Library

Find Newspapers by Location

Looking for newspapers covering a particular city or country?

You can conduct a subject search  in our classic catalog. In a subject search you are using specific vocabulary; in terms of finding places it is necessary to search for the appropriate geographic name.  For U.S.A cities you need to type the city's geographic name plus the word newspapers  (ex: El Paso Tex Newspapers). For other coutries type name of country plus word newspapers (ex: Chile Newspapers). See the list of subject geographic names to use appropriate geographic name.

You can also visit internet souces that list newpaper titles such as the Library of Congress U.S. Newspaper Directory or find newspaper titles worldwide via IPL Newspaper Collection. Once you have a title you can search under Journal or Newspaper Title Search.

Find Newspaper Articles by Topic

Depending on your topic and date of coverage you'll want to use the appropriate database or print index.  Try using the databases first, some will help you find the full text article while others will provide  you with an abstract.  The most commonly used databases for newpapers are:

  • LexisNexis Academic Provides access to full text documents from a wide variety of news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Sources include: national, regional, and international newspapers; wire services; broadcast transcripts; non-English language sources. Full text access to the El Paso Times is  available  from 1999 - present.
  • Newspaper Source (EBSCO)  Provides selective coverage for a wide variety of international, national, and regional newspapers. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary. Indexes other news sources such as television and radio transcripts, newswires, book reviews, speeches, and magazines. Many citations include abstracts and/or full text while others link to full text content based on institutional subscriptions.
  • NewspaperArchive.com Provides full text/full image access to an online archive of selected historical newspapers from around the world.  Content is composed primarily of historical back issues. Coverage varies by title, ranging from 1759 - present. Includes the El Paso Times, the El Paso Herald-Post, and The Prospector. 

UTEP library also holds print newspapers indexes that will help you in your  search:

   Title   Holdings  Location                              Call Number
Chicago Tribune Index  1988-Present  Ref Index  AI21.C45 C47

Charles Binion's El Paso Newpaper Index

1969-1974  Ref Index  AI21.E562 B565
El Paso Biographical & Subject  Index 1879-1936  Media & Microforms  MF 205
El Paso Times/Herald Post Index 1991-1994  Media & Microforms  M&M Desk
Houston Chronicle Index 1995-Present  Ref Index  AI21.H67 H68
Los Angeles Times Index 1984-Present  Ref Index  AI21.L65 N49 
New York Times Index 1836-74, 1876-79, 1886-99, 1905-48, 1950, 1953-present  Ref Index  AI21 .N45
The Times  Index 1963-Present  Ref Index  AI21 .T46
The Times  Index 1906-1962  Media & Microforms  Microfilm under title
Washington Post Index 1989-Present  Ref Index  AI21.W33 W36
       
       
       

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |