Skip to main content

El Paso History: Special Collections

This guide is for the El Paso community to ensure they find research materials on the history for the City of El Paso, Texas (Paso del Norte).

C.L. Sonnichsen Special Collections Department

The C. L. Sonnichsen Special Collections Department is located on the sixth floor. The book collections include the Chicano Collection, the Judaica Collection, the S. L. A. Marshall Military History Collection, the Southwest and Border Studies Collection, as well as collections of art and rare books. In addition to printed sources, the department has manuscript and archival collections available. There is also an oral history collection documenting the region.  If you are looking for a specific item, please call ahead and make an appointment at (915) 747-5697.  Click here to see their hours. 

Quick Links to Online Collections

Betty Mary Smith Goetting

Border Studies

Films

Immigration

People

Place/Locations

Religious

Cd. Juarez, Yaqui Indian, Madero's Camp

Research about El Paso

Man with hanging fish

Sport

UTEP

African-American History

Business Records

El Paso Borderlands History

Salvation Army (Group of 6)

Governmental Records

Portrait of African American Woman with dog

Immigration History

Mexican-American/Chicano/Chicana History

Native American History

Girl with chicken

UTEP History

Women's History

Miscellaneous Collections

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |