Services & Resources for Non-UTEP-Affiliated Users
If the UTEP Library is open, you are welcome to use our resources and services inside.
Our hours vary depending on the day of the week and the time of year, so please verify our hours before making the trip to the UTEP Campus.
Find + Borrow Books
Search for Books & Other Library Holdings In Our Catalog
Borrow Books-- Get a TexShare Card
- Grants you borrowing privileges at more than 500 participating libraries across the state.The UTEP library, EPCC libraries and El Paso Public Library honor the TexShare card.
- Ask for a TexShare card at the El Paso Public Library
- application takes only a few minutes
- TexShare card granted immediately
- Present your TexShare Card to the UTEP Access Services Staff when you're ready to check out books (see below for loan times + fees)
UTEP's wireless network is an "open" network
- Make sure that your wireless device is enabled
- Open a browser, or refresh the current page
- The UTEP wireless login screen will appear and allow you to enter your credentials
- guest username: guest
- guest password: guest
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Comprehensive bibliographic index for multidisciplinary literature. Formats indexed include books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes social sciences, arts and humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, health sciences, multicultural studies, and many more. Most citations include abstracts and full text or link to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions.
Education Full Text - H.W. Wilson (EBSCO)
Bibliographic index for education literature derived from English language periodicals, books, and yearbooks. Subject coverage includes adult and continuing education, educational technology, government funding, higher education, instructional media, language arts, library and information science, literacy standards, parent-teacher relations, school administration, teacher education, vocational education, and much more.
Educational Administration Abstracts (EBSCO)
Bibliographic index for selected literature related to educational administration, educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other relevant subject areas. Materials indexed include journal articles, magazines, books, and reports. Most citations include abstracts and some include full text or link to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) (EBSCO)
Comprehensive bibliographic index for national education literature, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, consisting of: Resources in Education, Current Index to Journals in Education, and full text ERIC Digest records. Materials indexed include books, journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, theses, dissertations, and conference proceedings. Subject coverage includes education, law, psychology, behavioral science, humanities, arts and literature, and the social sciences.
Professional Development Collection (EBSCO)
Comprehensive bibliographic index for highly specialized literature used by professional educators. Subject coverage includes education, administration, curricula, educational leadership, educational research, library and information science, learning disabilities, teacher education and training, reading, and many more. Materials indexed include scholarly and peer-reviewed journals, pamphlets, and books.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) (ProQuest)
Provides bibliographic indexing for nearly all doctoral dissertations and Master's theses accepted at North American academic institutions. Selectively indexes dissertations and theses from academic institutions in Great Britain, Europe, and other countries around the globe. Dissertations published since July 1980 include abstracts written by the author. Theses published since 1988 include brief abstracts. All titles published since 1997 include 24-page previews and complete full text; selected full text is available for earlier dates.
Visit a librarian at the Reference Desk to talk about how to:
- maximize your search effectiveness
- learn more about available databases
- find standards, statistics, and other information not available in our library's collection
- anything else we can assist you with