Skip to main content

Documentary Cinema: Writing Tools & Film Reviews

Need Writing Help??

If you need writting assistance and/or need to have your bibliography reviewed for proper citation; visit the UTEP Writing Center, located on the 2nd floor of the library next to the reference desk.

                                         

Search Strategies

RefWorks

 

RefWorks can be used to create and organize a personalized database of bibliographic references imported from text files and  online databases, or inputted by hand.

It formats both references and manuscript into various writing styles, such as MLA, APA, Chicago, Turabian, IEEE, and more.

As a UTEP student you can create a RefWorks account that will be active even after you graduate.

To learn more about RefWorks visit the RefWorks research guide!

Reviews

Journals/Magazines:

America: History and Life includes citations to film reviews from a number of history journals. Limit your search in the document type section by entertainment review and/or film review.

Film & Television Literature Index provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications (and selected coverage of 300). For reviews, limit your search to document type, entertainment review and/or film review.

JSTOR, a database of archived issues of academic journals. From the advanced search screen, you can limit your search by type (reviews). Because it is an archival database, JSTOR does not provide access to latest issues of journals (usually the last 3-5 years are not accessible), so this is not the database to use for reviews of recently released films.

Academic Search Complete provides access to magazine and journal articles.   In Academic Search Complete, limit your search in the document type section by entertainment review and/or film review.

Newspapers:

LexisNexis Academic is a great resource for newspaper reviews.  Coverage varies by title but the majority are available from the 1990s to the present. Click on Search by Content Type, then select "all news" from the options.  Use Advanced Options for Article Type and limit to movie reviews.

Proquest Historical Newspapers are also good options.  They include:  Los Angeles Times (1881-1990); The New York Times (1851-2010); The Wall Street Journal (1984-Present).  From advanced search, you can limit your search by document type, review

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |