History

Classical authors such as Herodotus, Xenophon, Thucydides and others, are available in the Library collections.

The Loeb Classical Library series (REF LOEB) provides complete coverage of ancient Greek and Latin authors, with original text accompanied by English translation on opposite page.

Ancient Writers: Greece and Rome  Vol. 1 (REF PA3002.A5)
Good biographical and background source on Greek historians and philosophers.

Great Historians from Antiquity to 1800  (REF D14 .G74)
Entries of several pages.  Arranged by country or geographical area including Greece.

Webster's Biographical Dictionary  (REF CT103 .W4)
World coverage for all time periods. Very brief biographies, with pronunciations.

Who Was Who in the Greek World, 776 BC - 30 BC (REF DF208 .W48)
Each entry has one or more bibliographic citations. Chronology, glossary, maps, genealogical charts.

Grun, B. Timetables of History (D11 .G78)
Chronology of historical, cultural, other events. "A horizontal linkage of people and events"

New Illustrated Encyclopedia of World History  2 v.  (REF D21 .L276)
A chronology in narrative form. Heavily illustrated. Index. Map list.

Brownstone, D. Timelines of War: A Chronology of Warfare from 100,000 BC to the Present (REF D25 .A)
Example of specialized chronology.

Olsen, K. Chronology of Women's History  (REF HQ1121 .O47)
Example of specialized chronology.

Comprehensive Dissertation Index  (Z5053 .C64 1974)
Indexes and abstracts all U.S. dissertations published in history since 1861.