UTEP Library Research Guides: Newspapers on Microfilm: Newspaper Databases

Finding Newspaper Databases

UTEP Library has categorized electronic databases into subjects for easy browsing, one of which is Newspapers.

The Newspapers category lists 24 databases associated with newspaper publications. Each listed database has a brief description and access information. Pick the most appropriate database for your research, and click on the database name link to access it. Note: If you are in campus, or off campus using the Virtual Private Networking (VPN); you will automatically be taken to the database. If you are off campus, and no VPN set up; you will be prompt with a login screen to identify that you are a UTEP student, faculty, or staff.

For more information on how to find the right electronic database for your research contact a librarian at the reference desk on 2^nd floor of library or via phone at (915)747-5643.

Finding Historical Newspapers

Popular Newspaper Databases

Some of the most popular databases for newspaper articles are:

Access Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text/full-image access to an online archive of selected historical newspapers from around the world. Countries represented include: United States (U.S.) and the Virgin Islands, the United Kingdom (U.K.), France, Germany, Ireland, South Africa, Jamaica, Canada, Denmark, China, and Japan. Content is composed primarily of historical back issues. Dates of coverage vary by title, ranging from 1759 - present (overall).
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic index that provides selective coverage for a wide variety of international, national, and regional newspapers. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary. Indexes other news sources such as television and radio transcripts, newswires, book reviews, speeches, and magazines. Many citations include abstracts and/or full-text while others link to full-text content based on institutional subscriptions. Updated daily.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&custid=s4252121&profile=ehost&defaultdb=n5h&groupid=main
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text documents from a wide variety of news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Sources include: national, regional, and international newspapers; wire services; broadcast transcripts; non-English language sources; U.S. Federal and state case law; codes and regulations; legal news; law reviews; international legal information; Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789; business news journals; company financial information; and SEC filings and reports as well as industry and market news. Coverage and updates vary by title and document type. NOTE: Formerly known as LexisNexis Academic. See also: WestlawNext Campus Research.
http://www.nexisuni.com
ProQuest Historical Newspapers - El Paso Herald/El Paso Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides complete full-text/full-image access to the El Paso Times from 1881 to current. The El Paso Herald-Post has full-text/full-image access for the years 1896-1997. Content includes news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photographs, cartoons, maps, advertisements, and more.
NOTE: El Paso Herald Post content will begin loading in December 2022.
https://www.proquest.com/hnpelpasoherald?accountid=7121