Resources and ideas for celebrating Earth Day throughout the year and with the community.
Last Updated: Apr 16, 2015
What is the Ecological Footprint?
The Ecological Footprint is a resource accounting tool that measures how much biologically productive land and sea is used by a given population or activity, and compares this to how much land and sea is available. Click on the earth below to begin your calculations.
Researching topics on conservation, biodiversity, recycling, pollution management, alternative energy sources, and more? Get started here.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Provides full text online access to a multidisciplinary social issues and controversies.
Provides bibliographic citations, abstracts, and complete full-text access to a unique aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals focusing on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. Some articles link to full-text content provided by other publishers or vendors.
- ehp (Environmental Health Perspectives) Online
ehp (Environmental Health Perspectives) Online is a full text, peer-reviewed journal dedicated to the discussion of environmental effects on human health. It includes monthly sections regarding childrens health and environmental medicine, a toxicogenomics research section, and an annual review issue.
- EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements (ProQuest - Subfile)
Provides indexing and abstracts for environmental impact statements issued by the federal government. Citations include key issues, project descriptions, positive impact, negative consequences, and legal mandates. Subject areas include air transportation, defense programs, energy, hazardous substances, land use, parks, refuges, forests, research and development, roads and railroads, urban and social programs, and water. Some citations include links to full text based on institutional subscriptions.
- GreenFILE (EBSCO)
Provides access to scholarly, government, and general-interest information on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations, and local/national governments. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- Nature (Online)
Provides complete full-text access to current and some archival content in Nature, the international weekly journal of interdisciplinary science. Peer-reviewed content includes research papers, opinion articles, news stories, correspondence, career information, and reviews.
Produced by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), this publisher's web site provides full text access to the following online titles: Science Magazine (1997-current), ScienceNOW, Science of Aging Knowledge Environment Archive, and all free content on the site.
- Sustainability Science Abstracts (ProQuest)
Bibliographic index for literature pertaining to the management of human use and conservation of natural resources for current and future generations. Subject coverage includes species and genetic diversity, protection of habitats and ecosystems, and the economics of sustainability. Materials indexed include relevant papers, reports, books and reviews from standard peer-reviewed scientific journals as well as conference proceedings and hard-to-find gray literature.
- Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)
Provides full text online access to a multidisciplinary social issues and controversies book series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints.