COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT POLICY
Subject: Rehabilitation Science
|
Degrees offered:
|
BS in Occupational Therapy; MS in Physical Therapy
|
|
Number of faculty:
|
11*
|
|
Number of majors in the program:
|
Undergraduate 44*
|
|
Accreditation agency:
|
Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education; Commission for the Accreditation of Physical Therapy Education
|
|
Faculty Liaison:
|
Jan Ryberg, Karen Funk, and Amitava Biswas
|
|
Library Subject Specialists:
|
Harvey Castellano, Angela Lucero, Elizabeth Torres
|
|
Department Chair:
|
Mary Carlson
|
|
* Fall, 2004 data is provided by the Center for Institutional Evaluation, Research and Planning, University of Texas at El Paso.
|
Program Description
The BS requires 26 months of attendance. The graduates receive a B.S. from plus eligibility for certification as registered occupational therapist, O.T.R..Upon completion of the didactic course work the students is scheduled for six months of full-time clinical experiences required for graduation, certification, and licensure.
The MS in Physical Therapy follows approximately 90 hours of prerequisite study and competitive admission to the program. Completion of the program requires 2.5 calendar years. The first year the students complete courses in basic and clinical sciences and basic physical therapy evaluation and treatment procedures. The students are also introduced to legal, ethical, and professional aspects as well as the specialty area of cardiopulmonary physical therapy. They study the management of patients with orthopedic and neurological abnormalities. Two full-time clinical experiences take place during the first year. The course includes concerns to pediatric and geriatric patients. The students also plan and initiate a research project under faculty supervision and devote some time to clinical education. Upon satisfactory completion of the course the students are eligible to become active members of the American Physical Therapy Association and to take the state licensure examination required to practice as a professional physical therapist.
Description of Existing Collection
NCIP Code: 1
Materials are classified in Library of Congress call number areas: RA 997; RC 487; R724; and RM 795. The collection holdings to support the program includes orthopedics. gerontology, managed care, hospital administration, sociology, kinesiology, psychology, special education, physical therapy, and physical medicine. There are a total of 1148 titles of monographs under the subject occupational therapy. One-hundred and fifty-six of these were purchased between 1992 and 1995. Although the number of monographs is low for the number of students, one has to keep in mind that the field does not publish as many titles as other disciplines.
The holdings were checked with the "Selected List of Books and Journals in Allied Health Science", by the late Dr. Alfred N. Brandon and Dorothy R. Hill which was published in the Bulletin of the Medical Library Association, July 1994, vol 82 No.3. The library has 17 of the 18 titles which are recommended. The titles under the Rehabilitation heading were also checked and there are 4 of the 18 titles in the collection. In addition to the monographs available, the library has a variety of reference resources including: Oxford Textbook of Sports Medicine, Dictionary of Rehabilitation, Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary, Stedman's Medical Dictionary, Mosby's Medical Nursing, and Allied Health Dictionary, Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary, Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, and the Dictionary of Rehabilitation.
The holdings were also checked with the "Selected List of Books and Journals for the Small Medical Library," 1995-1996 edition by the late Alfred N. Brandon and Dorothy R. Hill which appeared in the Bulletin of the Medical Library Association, vol 83, No. 2, April 1995 for basic medical texts which would be appropriate for the students in occupational therapy to use for reference in identifying pathological conditions. The library has one title under the heading Diagnosis, 5 under Dictionaries, none under Geriatrics, under Hospital Administration, under Internal Medicine, 2 under Nutrition, one under Orthopedics, none under Pathology, one under Patient Education, 4 under Pediatrics, 2 under Physical Medicine, 2 under Physiology, under Rheumatology, 8 under Sports Medicine, and under Surgery.
Indexing services which include material in occupational therapy are the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, Index Medicus, Hospital and Health Administration Index, Psychological Abstracts, Current Index to Journals in Education, and the Physical Education Index. The electronic indexes available on the local area network, (LAN), and some of which are counterparts of the printed indices, are CINAHL, MEDLINE, PSYCINFO, and ERIC. ABI INFORM, the business database also includes occupational therapy from the economic point of view. PERIODICAL ABSTRACTS includes some professional journals that contain material for occupational therapy. The PERIODICAL ABSTRACTS and ABI INFORM have several titles in full-text which are a valuable resource to the students and faculty. Recently added is the SPORT DISCUS, which includes occupational therapy in relation to sports.
Online searches are also available on the Knight-ridder Information System, MEDLARS, and OVID, (formerly BRS), for a fee. The library has access to First Search which includes Biological Abstracts and the Science Citation Index. CARL ( Colorado Alliance of Research Libraries) UNCOVER, is available in the library and indexes journal articles in many journals of various disciplines.
In addition to the monographs in the library collection, there are the 11 video recordings relating to occupational therapy available in the library. The library currently subscribes to 5 of the 10 recommended journal titles on the Brandon-Hill list. The journal titles available for occupational therapy are limited. The Brandon List has 10 titles which are recommended . The library currently subscribes to four of these. However, the library does have 4 serials with material on occupational therapy in full text online.
Current Collecting Intensity
NCIP Code: 1
1997/98 will be the first year materials are included in the library budget. Previously, materials were selected with funds from HSC in Galveston. The focus is basic support for the undergraduate program and the graduate program. Current and retrospective material is sought to satisfy the needs of the students and faculty in occupational therapy. Research material for the faculty and graduate students is also searched and obtained. Most of the selections are in the English language.
Desired Collection Level
NCIP Code: 2
Reference materials are lacking and are needed. Also, additional basic and advanced journals in occupational therapy. A larger collection of current monographs will also assist in reaching the 2 level.
Other Resources
The Interlibrary Loan Department of the Library provides material not available in the area. In addition, local medical collections supplement faculty and student research. Texas Tech School of Medicine Library branch in El Paso is available to the nursing faculty and students. Other libraries available to the faculty and students are the El Paso Community College Rio Grande Campus, which has a nursing collection to support their Associate Degree Nursing Program, the medical library at Providence Hospital, the El Paso Public Library, the medical library of the Universidad Autonoma de Ciudad Juarez in Juarez, Chihuahua, and the libraries at New Mexico State University in Las Cruces, New Mexico, which also offers a degree in nursing.
The library is a charter member of the Del Norte Biosciences Library Consortium which meets regularly to dialog and which has published a Union List of member journal holdings available locally.
Last updated: 3/20/03
