Collection Development Policies: Health Promotion

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT POLICY
Subject: HEALTH PROMOTION

Program Description:

The BS Degree in Health Science prepares graduates to function as health professionals in health education and health promotion settings such as community health agencies, public health agencies, private businesses; and public schools. Students complete a common core of courses in Health Science and then select a minor in Community Health, Education, or other approved areas. The curriculum is designed to provide a broad general educational base as well as the basic skills, experiences, and professional competencies specific to the practice of health education/health promotion. Other professional responsibilities include acting as a resource person in health education and communicating the health and health education needs, concerns, and resources of a community. Graduates of this 131 semester hour program function in planning, implementing, evaluating, and coordinating health education/promotion programs and activities in a variety of settings.

Graduates are prepared to complete the National Exam for the Certified Health Education Specialist (CHES) credential.  The Health Science Program received national approval from the SOPHE/AAHE Baccalaureate Program Approval Committee (SABPAC).

Certified Allied Health professionals may receive transfer credit for up to 62 semester hours earned in the student’s associate degree program toward this degree.  Professional foundation courses may account for up to 24 semester hours of this total transfer.

The MS in Health and Physical Education is primarily directed toward students who wish to go beyond the mater’s degree or to work as a professional in related fields in the private sector.  The MA in Education with a Health Education emphasis and the MEd with a Health Education emphasis are designed for individuals teaching or employed in schools.

Through 1991, health education was part of the Kinesiology, Health and Sports Studies within the College of Education,. In 1993, it was one of the Allied Health Programs of the College of Nursing and Allied Health. In 1993 the university offered a Bachelor of Science in Health Sciences as well as a Masters degree.

Students are introduced to the following topics:  Foundations of Health Science and Health Promotion, Nutrition, Wellness, First Aid and Safety, Community Health, Computerized Systems for Health Professionals, Current Health Issues, Health and Aging, Substance Abuse, Environmental Health, Death, Dying and Bereavement, Disease, Psychophysiology, Epidemiology Research, Health Education for Elementary and Secondary Schools, Family Life, Human Sexuality, Public Health Administration, Health Concerns of Pre-adolescents and Adolescents, Planning, Administering, and Evaluation in Health Science, Curriculum Development for Health Promotion,  Health Promotion Issues and Delivery Strategies, and School Health Program Promotion.

Description of the Existing Collection:
NCIP Code: 2

Materials are classified in the Library of Congress call numbers:

HQ 60, QH 323, QP 141, QP 303, QR 189, R118, R 121, R 123 R 607, R 690, R 724, R 727,  R 847, R 852 R 853, R 859, RA 1- 788, RC 111, RC 200, RC 270.8, RC 311, RC 564,  RC 607, RC 643,   RC 952, RJ 387, RJ 401, RM 214, RM 216, RM 217,  RT 90, T 11, TX 551

The "Selected List of Books and Journals in Allied Health Sciences" by the late Alfred N. Brandon and  Dorothy R. Hill, Journal of the Medical Library Association, Vol. 91, No. 1, January, 2003, pp 18-33  and the “Brandon/Hill Selected list of Print Books and Journals for the Small Medical Library” by the late Alfred N. Brandon and Dorothy R. Hill http://www..mssm.edu/library/brandon-hill/small_medical/index.shtml were checked for the holdings of the library.   

The categories checked in the allied health list are: Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome (AIDS)/Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV), Allied Health, Nutrition, Pathology, and Dictionaries and Directories.  The collection holds approximately 64% of the listed monographs. Subheadings under small medical library collections include Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome (AIDS), Infectious Diseases, Medical Writing, Nutrition, Pathology, Patient Education, Preventive Medicine and Public Health, Sexually Transmitted Diseases, Statistics, and Substance Abuse.  The collection holds approximately 43% of the listed monographs.

Materials in the collection concentrate on health education and health promotion as well as some interdisciplinary topics such as education.

The library subscribes to over 67 databases that contain journals pertaining to the Health Sciences.  In addition, the library subscribes to databases for other health disciplines, education, and psychology.

Current Collecting Intensity
NCIP Code: 2

The material selected supports the undergraduate program and the graduate program. Current and retrospective material is sought to satisfy the needs of the students and faculty in health. Research material for the faculty and graduate students is also searched and obtained. Most of the selections are in the English language.

Desired Collection Level
NCIP Code: 3

The library will continue to purchase current monographs in the discipline and will seek the purchase of basic and advanced journals in the Health Sciences

Other Resources

Locally, The Texas Tech Health Sciences Center Delia Montes-Gallo Library of the Health Sciences in El Paso supplements the University of Texas at El Paso collection with medical texts and journals not being purchased by the university.  Other libraries available to the studentws and faculty are the El Paso Community College, The El Paso Public Library, New Mexico State University, and the medical library of the Universidad Autonoma de Ciudad Juarez.

The Interlibrary Loan Department of the Library provides materials not available in the area.

The library is a charter member of the Del Norte Biosciences Library Consortium which meets regularly to dialog.

Last updated: 04/12/06