|
Degrees offered: |
B.A. and M.A. in Spanish and Linguistics |
|
Number of faculty: |
49* |
|
Number of majors in the program: |
Undergraduate 113* |
|
Faculty Liaison: |
Pedro Perez Del Solar |
|
Library Subject Specialist: |
Virginia Rassaei |
|
Department Chair: |
Kirsten Nigro |
|
* Fall, 2003 data as reported in The University of Texas at El Paso FACT BOOK, 2003-04, Center for Institutional Evaluation Research and Planning, University of Texas at El Paso, 2005 |
|
Program Description
Language and Linguistics offers majors for undergraduates in Linguistics, Spanish, German and French. Other courses include English for Speakers of Other Languages, Greek, Latin, Portuguese, Russian, and translation. Undergraduates may also be certified to teach in language or ESOL. The majority of the undergraduates concentrate on Spanish options in the program. Linguistics and French are the next most popular programs.
The graduate program offers an MA in Spanish or linguistics. Graduate courses are also available in translation, French, German, Portuguese and Spanish literature. The Master of Arts in Creative Writing offers a Spanish option.
Description of Existing Collection
NCIP Code: 3 for Spanish, linguistics, creative writing and French
2 for other languages
The strengths of the collection of Language are in area of Spanish. The area of French is covered adequately and other languages could use additional development. The renewed interest in some language studies has slowly been reflected in a growing representation in the library collections. There are 59 continuations (journal titles & standing orders) in the collection that support language and linguistic programs.
The basic guidelines for the development of the Language and Linguistics collection has been to support the instruction and research activities of the UTEP faculty, students, and staff. The strength of the collection closely parallels current teaching activity. Efforts are made to develop at least basic collections in additional areas to allow for future growth. Current materials for Spanish and French, as well as for Linguistics are being collected at Level 3. Materials for other languages are collected at Level 2. Materials for Creative Writing are also being collected at Level 3.
Current Collection Intensity
NCIP Code:
Monographs: French, Spanish & Ling. 3
Currently with have 59 Journal subscriptions that support Language and Linguistics. The recommendation has been submitted to add back 3 titles which were cancelled earlier and which will support studies in Greek and Latin studies.
The monographic collection is strongest in areas that support studies in Spanish and Linguistics. Additional development is needed in areas that support French and German studies along with other recent interests in Greek and Latin Studies. There are a few Government Documents that support studies in Language and Linguistics. In the area of Reference sources that support this area of study, we have a very com
Other Resources
The book collections of Language and Linguistics are sup
Last updated: 3/20/03
| 500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672 |