Skip to main content

Chicano Studies 4306- Colonias on the US/Mexico Border : Generate an Annotated Bibliography

Generate an Annotated Bibliography

Option #1:

Creating an Annotated Bibliography with Abstracts provided by the UTEP Library Online Catalog.

This option will generate an annotated bibliography with the abstract provided for the source, if available. I would not recommend this option for your own annotated bibliography, unless your teacher says it’s okay. However, if your teacher says you must write your own original summary for the source, then try Option #2.

 

Directions:

Click on the Bibliography button.

Select Output Style Manager.

From the List of Output Styles, select a citation style, one that reads Annotated With Abstracts.

If you want to see what it looks like, click on Preview Output Style.

Next, add this option to Favorites by clicking on the red arrow that points towards Favorites.

Finally, when you are ready to create a bibliography, you can click on the Bibliography button, an select this option from the Select an Output Style box .

 

Option #2:

Creating an Original Annotated Bibliography.

Basically, you set up an annotated bibliography output option, then you have to edit it with your own summary, replacing the catalog-provided abstract.

 

Directions:

Click on the Bibliography button.

Select Output Style Manager.

From the List of Output Styles, select a citation style, one that reads Annotated With Abstracts.

If you want to see what it looks like, click on Preview Output Style.

Next, add this option to Favorites by clicking on the red arrow that points towards Favorites.

Finally, when you are ready to create a bibliography, you can click on the Bibliography button, an select this option from the Select an Output Style box .

 

Extra Steps to Edit Annotated-With-Abstracts Bibliography:

1. Identify the reference record you want to add your in-your-own-words summary to. Click on the Edit tool. It's the icon with the pencil and paper.

 

2. Select a preferred citation style, but make sure it reads: Annotated with Abstracts.

You can also specify what type of source it is (DVD vs Book) by using the dropdown menu in the and Reference Type box.

 

3. Next, find the Abstract box. Delete the entry there. Cut and paste your in-your-own-words summary for this source into this Abstract box.

 

4. Click Save Reference button (location: lower right of popup box.).

 

Now, when you select those reference which you edited with your in-your-own-words summary, you will have an original annotated bibliography.

 

Just a very short example:

 

 

Page last updated on: Thursday, 10/20/2016 by A. Morales/UTEP Librarian

 

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |