Skip to main content

UNIV 1301 - Kropp

This research guide is for students in UNIV 1301: Public History in the U.S.-Mexico Borderlands taught by Dr. Kropp.

C.L. Sonnichsen Special Collections Department

The C. L. Sonnichsen Special Collections Department is located on the sixth floor within the Library. The book collections include the Chicano Collection, the Judaica Collection, the S. L. A. Marshall Military History Collection, the Southwest and Border Studies Collection, as well as collections of art and rare books. In addition to printed sources, the department has manuscript and archival collections available. There is also an oral history collection documenting the region.

If you are looking for a specific item, please call ahead and make an appointment at (915) 747-5697.

Special Collections Website

Click here to see their hours.

Relevent Collections

El Paso Cultural Heritage, Monuments, Art, Theaters, & Museums

The collections within Special Collections work a little differently.  These collections have finding aids that assist you in knowing what is contained in each collection because not every item is digitized.  To see the full list of finding aids available, click here.

Additional Collections:

  • Adair Margo Gallery records, MS646
  • Backstage with the Arts Collection, MS360
  • Betty Ligon papers, MS371
  • Clark Garnsey papers (EPMA materials), MS426
  • Cynthia Farah Weber Haines papers, MS319
  • El Paso Players Collection, MS573
  • Festival Theatre Collection, MS651
  • Four Centuries Collection, MS330
  • Guild of El Paso Art Museum Scrapbooks, MS500
  • Hal Marcus papers, MS411
  • Gertrude Fitzgerald Image Collection
  • Local Newspapers (El Paso Herald Post, El Paso Times, The Prospector)
  • Mago Gandara Orona Collection, MS584
  • Manuel Acosta Collection, MS638
  • Maud Sullivan Papers, MS423
  • Sanborn Maps
  • Urbici Soler Collection, MS037
  • UTEP Collection, MS001

El Paso Parks, Military & Infrastructure

The collections within Special Collections work a little differently.  These collections have finding aids that assist you in knowing what is contained in each collection because not every item is digitized.  To see the full list of finding aids available, click here.

Additional Collections:

  • Chris P. Fox Papers, MS150
  • Department of City Planning, MS204
  • Haskell Monroe Postcard Collection
  • Joan Brandt Photo Album, PH086
  • Joe Christie Papers, MS590
  • Max Weber Papers, MS012
  • Mexican Revolution Photo Collection, MS015
  • R.E. Thomason Papers, MS140
  • SLA Marshall Papers, MS186
  • Special Collection Map Collection
  • Texas Water Resources Reports, MS210

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |