Skip to main content

Interdisciplinary Health Science Disseration Research: Governmental Sites & Sources

Health & Medicine

Violence

United States Department of Justice: Office on Violence Against Women

The mission of the Office on Violence Against Women (OVW), a component of the U.S. Department of Justice, is to provide federal leadership in developing the nation’s capacity to reduce violence against women and administer justice for and strengthen services to victims of domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, and stalking.

Environment

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 
The EPA is a cabinet level agency created in 1970 with the mission to protect human health and the environment.

One online resource offered by the EPA is the Envirofacts Data Warehouse. This provides access to major environmental databases. By using the Quick Search feature, you can obtain an environmental profile of a specific region. Other resources of note available through the EPA include:

Office of Air and Radiation - provides information on air quality, acid rain, air pollutants, ozone depletion and radiation.

American Heritage Rivers - This Initiative helps restore and preserve water resources. A State of the River Report is available for every river designated an American Heritage River.

Chemicals in the Environment: OPPT Chemical Fact Sheets - Offers Fact Sheets and Chemical Summaries for selected chemicals.

Enforcement and Compliance History - Find regulation and compliance histories on regulated facilities.

Green Vehicle Guide - online users guide that ranks the environmental performance of recent cars.

Climate Change - information on the causes and effects of climate change.

 

National Oceanic and Atmopheric Administration (NOAA) 
The NOAA, which is over-seen by the Department of Commerce, is a federal agency that studies the condition of the oceans and atmosphere. NOAA offers a great amount of resources for anyone studying the state of the world's oceans, marine life, climate or climate change. Among the many resources available through the NOAA you can find:
An image of the NOAA logo

National Climate Data Center - Archives weather and climate data. Includes information on global climate change.

Coastal Ocean Program - includes information and reports about managing coastal ecosystems.

Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratory - read reports on topics such as oceanography, tropical meteorology, atmospheric and oceanic chemistry and acoustics.

National Marine Fisheries Service - Includes the publications Our Living Oceans Annual Report and Fisheries of the United States.

Great Lakes Environmental Research Laboratory - Houses scientific and environmental reports on the Great Lakes.

An image of the USGS logo United State Geological Survey (USGS) 
The mission of this federal organization is to provide "reliable scientific information to describe and understand the Earth; minimize loss of life and property from natural disasters; manage water, biological, energy, and mineral resources; and enhance and protect our quality of life."

Publications Warehouse - searches all USGS publications. Note that not all publications listed are available in full text. If you are interested in a document not available in full text, check the catalog for availability or request the document through interlibrary loan (ILLiad).

 

National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
Besides space exploration, NASA also has a variety of sources on environmental issues here on earth, often with a global outlook and unique visual data.

NASA Goddard Institute for Space Studies - Provides a wealth of interdisciplinary research on global climate change.

NASA-Earth Observatory - Access free publications and images about the earth and environment from NASA. You have the option of viewing satellite images on a specific topic and converting them into animations to see how the environment changed over time.

NASA-The Environment - Browse through NASA news and reports on the environment.

Earth Systems Science Data and Services - Access research reports on environmental, ecological and earth science topics from NASA.

Also try...

U.S. Climate Change Science Program - The purpose of this resource is to climate change research from thirteen different federal agencies, run by Office of Science and Technology Policy, the Council on Environmental Quality, the National Economic Council and the Office of Management and Budget. While somewhat disorganized, it does offer full text access to some important documentation on climate change. This is a good starting point for researching climate change and global warming.

Treesearch - searches all research and development publications by the Forest Service.

Natural Resources Conservation Service - Includes a plant database, extensive soil information and digital publications on managing natural resources.

Fish and Wildlife Service - National service aiming to conserve and protect wildlife and habitats. Digital publications are available through the library link. Includes information on Endangered Species (http://endangered.fws.gov/).

Science.gov - Use science.gov to search for science information from a number of government agencies in one place. You may search by adding keywords or browse by topic. There is an "Environment & Environmental Quality" topic and a "Biology & Nature" topic that may be of particular interest for those studying the environment.

Bureau of Land Management - This federal bureau has a vast number of reports and publications on land management and conservation with an emphasis on the western half of the United States. This site is best accessed by the search feature as not all reports are readily found by browsing.

Intergovernmental Organizations

  • United Nations
    The main United Nations website contains information about the structure of the U.N., member states, UN agencies, press releases and documents. A search engine is also provided.
  • African Union
    The African Union website offers news, leadership information and basic information on membership countries.
  • Europa: Offical Website of the European Union
    The EU at a Glance section provides some basic information about the EU. For more detailed information and documents, look through the four tabs, "Activities" "Institutions" "Documents" and "Services."
  • North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)
    NATO's website includes information on the organization's structure, news, speeches and military expenditures of member states. Some NATO publications are available online.
  • International Monetary Fund (IMF)
    The website for IMF includes information about the organization, exchange rates, and news releases. The IMF also publishes a number of reports, which can be found under the Publications section (many, but not all publications are available online). There is also a section for raw economic Data and Statistics.
  • Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC)
    The OPEC website includes an "About Us" section, news, member counties and meetings. OPEC also publishes a number of reports and publications that are available in full text under the Publications section.
  • Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)
    This website provides information about APEC, member economies, reports and publications focused on the economy and trade of countries in the Pacific Rim.
  • World Health Organization (WHO)
    WHO is a UN agency that focus on health issues. Many, but not all, WHO publications are available through the website in full text. Health and healthcare information on specific nations are available.

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |