Skip to main content

Systems Engineering: Integration, Verification and Validation MSSE 5344: Readings

Required Readings

Course Textbooks:

Please refer to Books and E-Books under Online Resources, for access to these materials:

 

·         Engel, Avner. Verification, Validation, and Testing of Engineered Systems, 2010. John Wiley & Sons, ISBN: 978-0-470-52751-1

 

·         CMMI Product Team. (2010). CMMI for Services, Version 1.3. CMMI Institute. CMMIInstitute.com.

 

Please create an account with INCOSE to access and download INCOSE material listed below.

To create an account please click here. Follow instruction under INCOSE: How to create a CAB Limited Account

 

·         International Council on Systems Engineering. (2015). INCOSE Systems Engineering Handbook: A Guide for System Life Cycle Processes and Activities. 4th Edition. Eds. Forsberg, K. Roedler, G., Walden, D. et. al. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley.

Required Readings: Weekly Topics

Week 2: IVV – Definition

Verification, Validation, and Testing of Engineered System

  • Chapter 2 - Sections 2.1 and 2.2 - VVT activities during Definition
  • Chapter 4 - Section 4.2.1 to 4.2.4 VVT Products Preparation
INCOSE Handbook Introduction
  • Section 3.3.1 and 3.3.2: Life Cycle Stages Concept and Development
  • Section 4.2 and 4.3: Stakeholder Needs and Systems Requirements Definition Processes
CMMI Model
  • Requirements Development Process Area - Specific Goal 3 Analyze and Validation Requirements (334-340)
  • Verification Process Area - Specific Goal 1 Prepare for Verification
  • Verification Process Area - Specific Goal 1 Prepare for Validation

 

Week 3: IVV – Design

Verification, Validation, and Testing of Engineered System

  • Chapter 2  Section 2.3 VVT activities during Design
  • Chapter 4  Section 4.3 Perform non-testing VVT activities
  • Chapter 6  Section 6.2 Cost and Risk Modeling
INCOSE Handbook Introduction
  • Section 3.3.2: Development Stage
  • Section 4.5: Design Definition Process
  • Section 5.4: Risk Management Process
CMMI Model
  • Technical Solution Process Area - Specific Goal 2 Develop the Design (Pages 380-383)
  • Risk Management Process Area - Specific Goal 2 Identify and Analyze Risks
 
Week 4: IVV – Implementation
 
Verification, Validation and Testing of Engineered System 
  • Chapter 2  Section 2.4 VVT activities during Implementation
  • Select Chapter 5 concepts (dependent on class project) 
INCOSE Handbook Introduction
  • Section 4.7: Implementation Process
  • Select Chapter 10 Concepts: Specialty Engineering Activities (dependent on class project) 
CMMI Handbook
  • Supplier Agreement Management Process Area - Specific Goal 2 Satisfy Supplier Agreements (Pages 369-372)
  • Technical Solution Process Area - Specific Goal 3 Implement the Product Design (Pages 387-391)
 
Week 5: IVV – Integration
 
Verification, Validation, and Testing of Engineered Systems 
  • Chapter 2 - Section 2.5 VVT activities during Integration
  • Chapter 5 - Section 5.7.5 Integration Testing
INCOSE Handbook Introduction
  • Section 4.8: Integration Process Area
  • Select Chapter 10 concepts (dependent on class project)
CMMI Model
  • Product Integration Process Area
 
Week 6: IVV – Qualification and Acceptance
 
Verification, Validation, and Testing of Engineered Systems
  • Chapter 2 - Section 2.6 VVT activities during Qualification
  • Select Chapter 5 concepts (dependent on class project)
INCOSE Handbook Introduction
  • Verification and Validation Process Elaboration (4.9.2 and 4.11.2)
  • Select Chapter 10 concepts (dependent on class project)
CMMI Model 
  • Verification Process Area - Specific Goal 2 and 3 Verify work product and conduct peer reviews
  • Validation Process Area - Specific Goal 2 Validate product
 
Week 7: IVV – Quality Metrics Calculations and Analysis
 
Verification, Validation and Testing of Engineered Systems 
  • Chapter 3 - Post Development Systems VVT activities
  • Chapter 7 - Section 7.2 Quality Data Acquisition and Aggregation
INCOSE Handbook
  • Section 4.12 to 4.14 Operation to Disposal Process
  • Section 5.8 Quality Assurance Process
CMMI Model 
  • Process and Product Quality Assurance Process Area - Specific Goal 1 - Objectively Evaluate Processes and Work Products
  • Risk Management Process Area - Specific Goal 3 - Mitigate Risks
 

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |