UTEP Library Research Guides: Children's & Young Adult Literature Resources: Databases

Finding Databases

Click on the Databases tab and select Children's Literature from the Subject dropdown.

Children's & Young Adult Literature Databases

These are some of the best databases for researching children's and young adult literature. For a complete list of children's literature related databases see: http://lib.utep.edu/search/e?+=Children%27s+Literature

TeachingBooks.net: Sharing the Spirit of Books and Reading This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Portal to thousands of online resources that can be used to explore children's and young adult books (both fiction and nonfiction) and their authors. Multimedia materials provided include short movies, audio book readings, book discussion guides, and more. Uses include lesson planning, author studies, and professional development across all subject areas in the K-12 curriculum.
https://www.teachingbooks.net
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index for multidisciplinary literature. Formats indexed include books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes social sciences, arts and humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, health sciences, multicultural studies, and many more. Most citations include abstracts and full text or link to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions. This database is made possible by TexShare.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to an extensive array of information about children's books, video and audio recordings, film strips, and other children-focused media. Contains catalog records in MARC format that have children's headings assigned and include all of the official cataloging data, subject terms, and annotations. Includes full text reviews of children's books ranging from the earliest baby board books to novels and nonfiction for young adults. Also includes information about children's books that have been recognized as having particular merit, such as award winners or those titles that were included on best book or state reading lists.
https://enterprise.clcd.com
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online (DLBC) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text/full image online access to the literature criticism book series Dictionary of Literary Biography, published by Gale. Provides biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Includes the DLB Main Series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series. Materials indexed include scholarly and popular analytical commentary in essay format derived from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books, and periodicals.
https://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/txshracd2603?db=DLBC
Education Full Text - H.W. Wilson (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic index for education literature derived from English language periodicals, books, and yearbooks. Subject coverage includes adult and continuing education, educational technology, government funding, higher education, instructional media, language arts, library and information science, literacy standards, parent-teacher relations, school administration, teacher education, vocational education, and much more.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=eft
Literature Criticism Online (LCO) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text/full image online access to each of the 12 literature criticism book series published by Gale, including the complete back-file. Materials indexed include scholarly and popular analytical commentary in essay format derived from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books, and periodicals. Titles include: Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism (NCLC), Twentieth Century Literary Criticism (TCLC), Literature Criticism from 1400 - 1800 (LC), Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism (CMLC), Shakespearean Literature Criticism (SLC), Poetry Criticism (PC), Short Story Criticism (SSC), Drama Criticism (DC), Children's Literature Review (CLR), Something About the Author (SATA), and Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB).
https://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/txshracd2603?db=LCO
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) for international scholarly research materials on language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Subject areas range from the arts, humanities, and education to the behavioral, social, economic, and political sciences. Materials indexed include journal articles, books, book chapters, working papers, and conference proceedings.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=mzh
Something About the Author Online (SATA) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text/full image online access to the literature criticism book series Something About the Author, published by Gale. Includes the Something About the Author Autobiography Series and the complete back-file. Provides comprehensive information about the lives and works of authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults. Materials indexed include scholarly and popular analytical commentary in essay format derived from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books, and periodicals.
https://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/txshracd2603?db=SATA

Resources for Teachers

The Learning Network: Teaching & Learning with the New York Times
Daily resources for teaching and learning with The New York Times, including lesson plans, questions for writing and discussion, quizzes, monthly contests and more.
Rubistar
A free tool to help teachers create rubrics.
Four Different Types of Writing Styles
Created by HubPages, discusses Expository, Descriptive, Persuasive, and Narrative writing. Provides definitions and examples.
Write Source: Student Writing Models
Created by Write Source, a group of teachers and writers, provides examples of all sorts of student writing models for grades 1 - 12.
Full OWL Resources for Grades 7-12
Created by the Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University. Provides instruction on writing for grades 7 - 12, from process to citation. Good for use by both students and instructors.

Interlibrary Loan

The UTEP Library doesn't have it?? Don't worry, get it from another library using Interlibrary Loan (ILL):
http://tinyurl.com/nnxaq8n.

Remote Access

If you're not on-campus, but need to use the UTEP Library's electronic resources, you'll need to authenticate your identity.

You have these options:

1. Connect through the UTEP Single Sign-On

follow the prompt to sign in using your UTEP username and password before accessing a database or e-book
you will be prompted to authenticate (log in) every time you access a protected resource (i.e., databases)
doesn't get you into all databases (some require IP authentication via VPN)
in short: sign in when prompted

2. Connect to UTEP's VPN Global Protect - this will allow you to operate as if you were on-campus and on UTEP's hardwired network.

If you need help contact the UTEP Technology Support Help Desk.