UTEP Library Research Guides: HSCI 4311: Community Health Education: Health Statistics

Texas and El Paso

Community Health Status Indicators - El Paso County
Provided by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Texas Health Statistics
Provided by Texas Department of Health Services
Texas Health Facts
Texas Health Rankings
Compiled by the United Health Foundation, American Public Health Association and Partnership for Prevention.
Healthy Paso del Norte
Intended to help community members and policy makers learn about the health of the region. It provides local health data, resources, best practices, news articles and information about community events.

Databases

Tip: To search MEDLINE or PUBMED for articles that may contain relevant data, analysis and statistics, use one of two subheadings. For articles about diseases/conditions, use the subheading EP - Epidemiology. For all other topics, use the subheading SN - Statistics and Numerical Data.

MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index for international literature in biomedicine, bioengineering, and health. Includes those areas of the life, behavioral, and chemical sciences needed by health professionals and others engaged in basic research and clinical care, public health, health policy development, or related educational activities. Subject coverage includes medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the pre-clinical sciences. Materials indexed include scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters. This database is made possible by TexShare.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=cmedm
PubMed (NCBI-NLM) This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free service provided by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) of the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). It provides indexing for bibliographic citations from MEDLINE (1966 - present), OLDMEDLINE (1950 - 1965), out-of-scope and publisher-supplied citations, in-process records, and selected other NLM-reviewed life science journal articles with full text in PubMedCentral. Provides comprehensive coverage of international biomedical literature. Materials indexed include scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters. Many citations include abstracts and some include free full text or links to full text, based on institutional subscriptions.
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?otool=txutxelib
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a comprehensive online archive of social science research data. Subject coverage ranges from political science, sociology, and criminal justice to economics, education, health science, and psychology.
https://www.icpsr.umich.edu/web
NOTE: Data must not be shared with anyone other than current UTEP faculty, staff, and students. Authorized users will need to create a "MyData" account in order to download data files.

Subject Headings - Health Statistics

Use the following subject headings to perform a search in the library catalog.

Biometry
Health status indicators
Health surveys -- Statistical methods
Medicine Research Statistical Methods
Medicine -- Research -- Statistical methods
Medical statistics
Nursing -- Statistical methods

U.S. Statistics

Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System
BRFSS is the world’s largest, on-going telephone health survey system, tracking health conditions and risk behaviors in the United States yearly since 1984. Currently, data are collected monthly in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and Guam.
CDC Data and Statistics
Health Services & Sciences Research Resources (HSRR)
HSRR is a searchable database of information about data sets and instruments/indices employed in Health Services Research, Behavioral and Social Sciences and Public Health with links to PubMed.
Medline Plus Health Statistics
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)
National Center of Health Statistics
Quick and easy access to a wide range of information and data available from the CDC.
Vital and Health Statistics Series
Provided by Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
WISQARS (Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System)
An interactive database system that provides customized reports of injury-related data provided by Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
U.S. State Health Facts
Provided by the Kaiser Family Foundation which is a non-profit, private operating foundation focusing on the major health care issues facing the U.S., as well as the U.S. role in global health policy.
US Office of Minority Health
The Office of Minority Health is dedicated to improving the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will help eliminate health disparities.

International Statistics

World Health Organization - Data and Statistics
WHO's Annual World Health Statistics Reports
Global Health Facts
A non-profit, private operating foundation focusing on the major health care issues worldwide.
Global Health Observatory
Provides data and analyses on global health priorities by the World Health Organization.
Pan American Health Organization

Print & E-books

The encyclopaedic companion to medical statistics by Brian S. Everitt and Christopher R. Palmer
Call Number: RA409 .E527 2011
ISBN: 9780470684191
Medical statistics from scratch: an introduction for health professionals by David Bowers
Call Number: RA409 .B669 2008
ISBN: 0470513012
Introductory statistics for health and nursing using SPSS by Louise Marston
Call Number: R853.S7 M37 2010
ISBN: 1847874835

US Health Insurance

Income, Poverty, and Health Insurance Coverage
The Census Bureau collects health insurance data using three national surveys: the Current Population Survey's Annual Social and Economic Supplement (CPS ASEC), the American Community Survey (ACS) and the Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP). The CPS ASEC collects health insurance data on an annual basis at the national and state level geographies. The ACS collects data on an annual basis for the nation, all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, every congressional district and all counties, places and metropolitan areas with populations of 65,000 or more. The SIPP collects longitudinal health insurance data at the national level of geography.