PRIMARY SOURCE MATERIALS FOR HISTORY OF THE 2Oth-CENTURY WEST
Examples include: Stephenson-Flores family papers, Betty Mary Smith Goetting papers, Mario T. Garcia papers, Hyslop-Beckmann family papers, Allen Falby papers, Chris P. Fox papers, R. E. Thomason papers, Maude Isaacks papers, Kohlberg family papers (Refer to finding aids at http://libraryweb.utep.edu/special/finding_aids.php)
El Paso Graduate Nurses' Association, National Catholic Welfare Conference, Women's Section, El Paso Chamber of Commerce, Planned Parenthood of El Paso, etc.
Zork Hardware, The Labor Advocate, The Popular Dry Goods, Horace B. Stevens papers, O.H. Thorman Architectural records, Chisos Mining Company records, Southern Pacific Company, etc.
Gertrude Fitzgerald photographs, Mexican Revolution photograph collection, Leona Washington photograph collection, El Paso Times negatives, El Paso Herald-Post photo files, Casasola Studio photos, Meston Travel photographs, Aultman photographs, etc. (View some images at http://libraryweb.utep.edu/special/databases.php)
El Paso city directories, 1889- http://libraryweb.utep.edu/special/databases.php
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
Southern Pacific RR maps
City plats, other blue line maps
Over 1300 oral history interviews http://digitalcommons.utep.edu/oral_history/
Texas state records:
Rio Grande Compact records
Texas Eighth District Court of Appeals case files
Texas county records:
El Paso County Records (Guide at http://libraryweb.utep.edu/special/finding_aids/MS132_El-Paso-County-Records.pdf)
Deed books, sheriffs' minute books, probate files, chattel mortgage books
Brewster, Culbertson, Davis,
Birth, death, and marriage records; school census
Serial Set (Congressional documents) on-line at http://libraryweb.utep.edu/special/finding_aids/MS132_El-Paso-County-Records.pdf
State Department, Immigration records, presidential papers on microfilm; other departments’ records in hard copy.
El Paso Herald-Post is available in Access Newspaper Archive (http://0-access.newspaperarchive.com.lib.utep.edu/)
Also check the Library of Congress site Chronicling America (http://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/) for US newspapers published before 1923.
Special Collections has samples and short runs of various local and regional newspapers.
Newspapers on microfilm are located on the first floor.
Primary sources in the book collections:
Southwest and Border Studies Collection: contains over 9,000 books on Mexico and the American Southwest. Included among them are published memoirs and papers, travel accounts, etc. Use search terms such as diary,letters, journal, or personal narratives.
Website for Special Collections: http://libraryweb.utep.edu/special/