UTEP Library Research Guides: SOWK 3358: Generalist Social Work Prac II : Peer-Reviewed Journals

What is a Peer-Reviewed Journal?

Peer-reviewed journals also known as referred journals are:

Scholarly publications that go through a rigorous review process by 3-5 scholars in the field before being publishing the articles.

Because these articles have been through this review process, articles in peer-reviewed journals are good sources of evidence-based information.

How to Find if a Specific Journal is Peer-Reviewed?

If you cannot find information about the peer-reviewed status of a journal, search the title of the journal in Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory. Ulrich's has basic information about all journals that are currently being published, and indicates whether a journal is peer-reviewed or refereed.

Recommended Databases for Peer-Reviewed Articles

Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic index for literature dealing with social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Materials indexed include journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews. Citations include abstracts and some include links to full text articles, based on institutional subscriptions.
https://search-proquest-com/socialservices?accountid=7121

Numerous Library databases provide access to peer-reviewed articles, the following databases are recommendations for social work research.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index for multidisciplinary literature. Formats indexed include books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes social sciences, arts and humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, health sciences, multicultural studies, and many more. Most citations include abstracts and full text or link to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions. This database is made possible by TexShare.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h
PsycINFO (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index that provides citations, abstracts, and some full text for international literature in the field of psychology drawn from source materials such as journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. Subject coverage includes the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=psyh
PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic index that provides complete full text access to peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and several allied organizations. Subject coverage includes general psychology as well as specialized, basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research. Materials indexed include journal articles, letters to the editor, and errata.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=pdh
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index for literature concerning psychology and human behavior. Subject coverage includes emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Materials indexed include scholarly and peer-reviewed journals.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=pbh
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic index for international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Source publications include book reviews, journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
https://search.proquest.com/socabsshell/advanced?accountid=7121
Criminal Justice Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Produced in cooperation with the Don M. Gottfredson Library of Criminal Justice at Rutgers University Law Library and SAGE Publications, Inc., Criminal Justice Abstracts provides indexing and abstracts for international journal articles, books, governmental and nongovernmental reports, dissertations, and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines. Subject content includes crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment, and sentencing. Some citations include links to full text content, based on institutional subscriptions.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=cja
Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Selective bibliographic index for U.S. and international literature pertaining to criminal justice. Subject coverage includes law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security. Publications indexed include scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications. Most citations include abstracts and some include full-text or link to full-text content from other providers based on institutional subscriptions.
https://search.proquest.com/criminaljusticeperiodicalsshell/advanced?accountid=7121
PTSDpubs (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index of the Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress (PILOTS) produced by the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (NCPTSD) and sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Subject coverage includes all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic or geographical limitations. Publications indexed include obscure as well as well-known journals, books, book chapters, pamphlets and technical reports
https://search.proquest.com/pilots/advanced?accountid=7121