UTEP Library Research Guides: SOWK 3358: Generalist Social Work Prac II : Evidence Based Resources

Remote Access

To access electronic resources outside the library you will need to authenticate your status as a UTEP student.

It is recommended that you download the UTEP VPN to your personal device in order to access the library's e-content. See Tutorial for Macs or Tutorial for Windows.

Database Tutorials

The following are short tutorial on specific resources.

Have an article citation and want to find the full article?

Recommended Databases for Evidence-Based Research

The following is a list of recommended Library databases with your evidence-based research; for a complete list of all social work databases, go to http://lib.utep.edu/search/e?+=Social+Work

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic index for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare derived from English-language and selected international source materials. Subject coverage includes management, behaviorial sciences, health sciences, librarianship, education, and consumer health. Materials indexed include journals, books, book chapters, pamphlets, audiovisuals, dissertations, educational software, conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts, critical paths, and research instruments.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=cin20
Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new window
A collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews), the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), the Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews (Methodology Reviews), the Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA), and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED). Includes full text, systematic reviews of empirical studies, complete with graphs, figures, odds-ratio diagrams, and tables, many of which can be manipulated for statistical analysis.
https://www.cochranelibrary.com
PsycINFO (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index that provides citations, abstracts, and some full text for international literature in the field of psychology drawn from source materials such as journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. Subject coverage includes the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=psyh
PubMed (NCBI-NLM) This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free service provided by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) of the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). It provides indexing for bibliographic citations from MEDLINE (1966 - present), OLDMEDLINE (1950 - 1965), out-of-scope and publisher-supplied citations, in-process records, and selected other NLM-reviewed life science journal articles with full text in PubMedCentral. Provides comprehensive coverage of international biomedical literature. Materials indexed include scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters. Many citations include abstracts and some include free full text or links to full text, based on institutional subscriptions.
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?otool=txutxelib

Searching Tips

Add keywords to your searches that describe a type of evidence-base research. For example: clinical trial OR randomized clinical trial.

Utilize limiters in the Advanced Search options. For example CINAHL has a limiter option for Evidence Base Practice, PsycInfo has a Methodology limiter to find Clinical Case Study articles.

If you find an Evidence Based Summary, Recomended Practices or Systematic Review you might also check some of the articles cited in those resouces.