Skip to main content


Scientific Databases

There have been many studies on the side affects and safety of Vaccines.  The studies are posted primarily in scientific journals.  These will be some of the best databases to find them.

AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill  Provides full text online access to a selected collection of authoritative clinical reference and medical education titles authored by leading medical professionals from around the world. Content includes images, illustrations, interactive self-assessment tools, case files, and diagnostic tools necessary for completing evaluations, diagnoses, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research, medical education, or self-assessment and board review. 

BMJ Journals  Provides indexing, abstracting, and full text content for journals published by the BMJ Publishing Group, Ltd. Subject coverage is comprehensive pertaining to all aspects of medicine and the health sciences. Access to full text is based on institutional subscriptions. Coverage and updates vary by title.

Health Reference Center  Bibliographic index for literature derived from general interest health and fitness magazines, medical and professional journals, medical reference books, newsletters, and pamphlets. Subject coverage includes physical fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, pediatrics, public health, psychology, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, prescription and over-the-counter drugs, and more. Most citations include full text, based on licensing restrictions. 

Immunology Abstracts  Bibliographic index for research literature pertaining to the study of immunology in both humans and animals. Subject coverage ranges from cancer and vaccine research to immune deficiencies and autoimmunity. Source literature includes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, reports, and monographs. Citations include abstracts and some include links to full text articles, based on institutional subscriptions.

MEDLINE (OVID)  Bibliographic index for international literature pertaining to biomedicine, bioengineering, and health. Subject coverage includes a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services as well as nursing, dentistry, and veterinary medicine.

ScienceDirect  Provides bibliographic citations, abstracts, and complete full text for Elsevier publications. Some items link to full text content provided by other publishers or vendors. Access to full text is based on institutional subscriptions. Subject coverage includes biology, chemistry, business, mathematics, engineering, environmental science, materials science, computer science, medicine, psychology, the social sciences, and physics.

SpringerLink  Provides bibliographic citations, abstracts, and full text for the publications of Springer-Verlag, Birkhuser Verlag, Brill Academic, and other selected publishers on the MetaPress platform. Access to full text is based on institutional subscriptions. Multidisciplinary subject coverage includes arts and humanities, astronomy, biology, business, chemistry, computer science, economics, education, electrical engineering, environmental science, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, medicine, philosophy, physics, psychology, and the social sciences. Full text coverage and updates vary by publisher and title. NOTE: UTEP's subscribed content includes the following e-book collections: Mathematics and Statistics (2005-2009), Biomedical and Life Sciences (2005-2010), Behavioral Science (2005-2010), Medicine (2005-2010), and Chemistry and Material Science (2005-2010).

Virology and AIDS Abstracts  Comprehensive bibliographic index for international literature focusing on virology and Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS) studies. Every aspect of virology relevant to humans, animals, and plants is featured, with topics ranging from replication cycles to oncology. Other subjects include the hepatitis B virus vaccination, viral genetics, and interferon. Materials indexed includes reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and monographs. Citations include abstracts and some include links to full text articles, based on institutional subscriptions.

Web of Science  Provides access to Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Includes a broad selection of prestigious, high impact, academic research journals as well as cited reference searching.

Wiley Online Library  Provides bibliographic citations, abstracts, and full text for a wide variety of peer-reviewed primary research and survey journals published by John Wiley & Sons, Inc. in partnership with several prestigious international scholarly and professional associations. Subject coverage includes business, economics, finance, accounting, chemistry, earth and environmental science, education, engineering, humanities, social science, information science and computing, law and criminology, life science, medicine, mathematics and statistics, health science, veterinary medicine, physics and astronomy, polymers and materials science, and psychology.

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |