Skip to main content

EndNote Basic (formerly Endnote Web): Importing References

Direct Export to EndNote Basic

Some databases have the feature to send citations directly to your EndNote Basic account

General Procedures:

1. "Mark" the records you want to export.
2. Look for a link to the list (folder) of "Marked Records", click on it.
3. Look for an "Export" link, click on it.
4. Choose EndNote Web as the export option (most databases have not changed the name to EndNote Basic yet).
5. The computer will ask you if you want to open or save: choose open.
6. Your citations will load into EndNote Basic.

Direct Export through CINAHL (EBSCO)

CINAHL like all other EBSCOhost databases have the direct export to EndNote Basic feature in the tools section. 

Select Direct Export to EndNote Web option and save

You will be prompt to library proxy authenticate yourself and then login to your EndNote Basic account to see imported citations

EndNote Basic Online Search

EndNote Basic also has the capability to search within specific online databases such as PubMed and the UTEP Library Catalog. 

Export/Import Text File

Most databases do not have the direct citation export feature for EndNote Web. For those databases you need to export the text file, save it to your computer, then imported it to your EndNote Web account.

General Procedures for exporting text file:

1. "Mark" the records you want to export.
2. Look for a link to the list of "Marked Records", click on it.
3. Look for an "Export" link, click on it.
4. Choose "EndNote" or "RIS File"  as the Export option.
5. The computer will ask you if you want to open or save: choose save.

General Procedures for importing  text file to EndNote Web:

1. Go to your EndNote Web account.
2. Under the "Collect" tab click on Import References.
3. Browse your computer to insert the text file saved previously.
4. Choose the database from where you obtained the reference.
In case you database is not listed  transferred as "EndNote Import" or if it is a RIS as "Refman RIS".
5. Then select the group to store the references.

Save Text File in PubMed

Not every database has a direct export feature for EndNote Basic, but they might have a save file feature or export feature to EndNote software.in pubmed select sent to citation manager and save the created file the file nbib

import saved file in endnote basic collect tab

EndNote Basic Capture Plug-in

Capture Reference plug-in enables you to catch bibliographic information from web pages and save it to your EndNote Basic library.

Capture Reference

To install the Capture tool, just drag the Capture Reference button to your Bookmarks bar (also known as "Favorites Bar" or "Bookmarks Toolbar"). In some browsers, you may need to right-click and select "Add to Favorites" or "Bookmark This Link."  To use it, browse to a page you like and click the Capture Reference button in the Bookmarks bar. The Capture Reference window will open. Follow the instructions in the window.

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |