Skip to main content

Graduate Student Library Resources: Research Alerts

Types of Alerting Services

Table of Contents Alerts (TOC)

A table of contents alert emails you the table of contents when a new issue of a specified journal is published.

Database Search Alert

A search alert notifies you (either through email or a RSS feed) when new articles matching a customized search are found. You can specify how frequently you'd like to receive search alert notifications.

Citation Alert

Citation alerts are less common. A citation alert emails you each time an article you selected is cited in a new publication.

Web Page Alerts

A web page alert notifies you when a web page has been updated.

Twitter and Facebook

You can follow journals and bloggers on Twitter and Facebook for alerts when they update their websites.

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds are subscriptions to websites or journals than you can read in a news reader.

Be the FIRST not the Last to Know

Want to view your favorite journal's table of contents from the comfort of your home or office?  Stay current in your field with minimal time and effort by using research alerts.

Alert services are available through many of the UTEP databases, sending notifications of

  • new publications,
  • topics of interest,
  • or table of contents.

These services automatically send email and/or RSS notifications of new citations.

General Instructions and How-to

Many databases offer alert services, although they may be called "saved searches" or something similar. Look for an "alerts" or "email updates" button on the database's home page or publisher's website. 

Most databases require that you register and create a free profile. For more information about setting up alerts, please contact the Library Reference Desk or your subject librarian

Here are the basic steps on creating an alert. They vary depending on the database/publisher.

  1. Create a free account with the database or publisher.
  2. Conduct a search; or select a publication title.
  3. Request that the search notify you of newly published literature.

RSS to Email

New to RSS Feeds? Prefer email subscriptions over RSS? Here's a tool that will convert RSS to an email.   

EBSCO Databases

Instructions for setting up search and citation alerts in EbscoHost, including RSS feeds.

Web of Science

Instructions for setting up search and citation alerts in Web of Science, including RSS feeds.

ProQuest Databases

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |