Skip to main content

Faculty Resources and Services: Research

Information on how the library resources can support faculty with curriculum, research and retention/tenure/promotion.

Author's Rights - Overview from SPARC

Open Access, Scholarly Communication and Publishing

Cabell's Directories

Cabell's Directories of Publishing Opportunities -   Each directory includes current contact information for a wide range of selected academic journals within the disciplines covered, ranging from addresses, phone and fax numbers to e-mail addresses and websites. Also includes information on publication guidelines as well as detailed review information.  

Copyright Questions?

Confused about copyright and "fair use" as it relates to articles, books and media use in your course?

If you have questions, go to the Copyright Research Guide.

Tools for Funding and Presenting Your Research

Identifying Funding Opportunities  -  COS Pivot: Funding Connected  Fully-integrated content platform that combines data from COS Funding Opportunities and COS Scholar Universe with intelligent mapping features to expedite funding discovery, dissemination, and researcher collaboration on a global and local level. Provides access to a comprehensive global source of funding opportunities and researcher expertise from leading research organizations worldwide.

Identifying Scholars in Similar Areas  -  COS Scholar Universe (ProQuest) provides authoritative information about more than one million scholars and their organizations around the world. Includes faculty at four-year universities in Australia, Canada, India, Mexico, New Zealand, South Africa, the United Kingdom, and the United States. Updated monthly.

Identifying Presentation Opportunities  -  PapersInvited (ProQuest) Comprehensive database of calls for papers and posters issued by academic and professional conferences or publications across all subject disciplines. Assists scientists, corporate researchers, faculty, and students with tracking calls for papers from various professional organizations, universities, and academic journals. Useful for academic and research constituency who want to keep abreast of and contribute to the latest developments by attending conferences to present and publish papers.

Identifying Emerging Publications and Dissertations on Your Area of Interest  -  Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest)  Provides bibliographic indexing for nearly all doctoral dissertations and Master's theses accepted at North American academic institutions. Selectively indexes dissertations and theses from academic institutions in Great Britain, Europe, and other countries around the globe.

Digital Commons - Preserves, organizes, and provides access to UTEP's Institutional Repository (IR) or online archive of research and scholarship of various types across all colleges, departments, and programs. Materials indexed include working papers, journal articles, conference papers, UTEP's dissertations and theses, photographic collections, and more. All items posted are full text or full image. Includes Faculty Selected Works.

Library Subject Specialists are here to help you!

Research and Publication

Publishing Your Research 101

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |