Skip to main content

ESOL 1311 Research Basics: Background Information

You Need Background Information

you need background information

Background Information

If you dont know enough about your topic, you might want to get background information by utilizing encyclopedias, dictionaries and class textbooks which cover information in a comprehensive matter.

When searching for background information online go beyond Wikipedia; use authoritative encyclopedias and dictionaries that the UTEP Library subscribes to. Two good online databases that  provide valuable background information are:  Gale Virtual Reference Library and Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)

 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

 Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) provides full text online access to a multidisciplinary social issues and controversies covered by the Opposing Viewpoint book series as  well as full text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles; primary source documents; government and organizational statistics; multimedia, including images and podcasts; links to hand-selected web sites; and more.


Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library  provides access to a large and varied collection of electronic reference books published by Gale such as dictionaries and encyclopedias.   

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |