Skip to main content

UNIV 1301: Experiencing Poverty : Research Articles

Your Assignment:

Find 2 research articles from peer-reviewed scholarly sources about poverty in the United States.

To find articles:

  • Use correct tool to find articles such as the library database Academic Search Complete
  • Limit your results to scholarly peer-reviewed publication
  • Limit your results to the years 1999-present
  • Choose your key terms wisely; articles must be about poverty in United States only, not a country comparison.
  •  Make sure is a research articles (an actual study) and not a review/discussion of studies previously done.

Scholarly Articles

 In academia the term "scholarly articles"  refers to reseach articles or review articles published in scholarly journals Scholarly articles are legthy , always list authors, are written using the discipline's terminology, and always cite their sources. 

 Most scholarly journals go thru the process of peer-review in which they send the drafts of articles submitted to them to a group of scholars in the discipline prior to publication.

Recommended Databases

Searching Tips

Remember these search tips when using databases:

Quotation marks = search for phrases two or more words: "family homelessness"

Wildcard *asterisk sign searches for variations of the term: nutri* will give you results for nutrition, nutritian, nutrients, nutritional

OR = more results. Combine synonyms or similar terms to increase the number of results: "hispanics" OR "latinos"

AND = narrow your results. Combine different concepts to narrow your search: "U.S. poverty" AND "policy"

NOT = excludes terms from your search: "adults" NOT "young adults"

Finding Scholarly Articles

To find scholarly articles you must use the library's databases. Databases index thousands of scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines and other sources. This means you can conduct a search on " U. S. A. homelessness" and simultaneously retrieve articles from numerous publications.

The UTEP Library subscribes to over 300 databases some are multidisciplinary such as Academic Search Complete while other databases such as Business Source Complete are discipline focus. Choose the most appropriate database for you research topic.

Make sure you limit or refine your results to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed Journals).

How to indentify a research article

Remember your Professor wants you to find scholarly reseach articles from 1999-Present

Research articles are scholarly articles written by and for scholars in order to share their original research/study findings.

Research articles will usually contain:

 

Academic Search Complete

 Academic Search Complete is the most commonly searched database by UTEP undergraduates because it is a multidisciplinary database and links to more relevant and authoritative sources than Google. 

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |