Skip to main content

UNIV 1301: Experiencing Poverty : Background Information

Do you have a topic and a concise understanding of it?

If you dont know enough about your topic, you might want to get background information on your topic by utilizing encyclopedias, dictionaries, class textbooks, and the Opposing Viewpoints series which cover information in a comprehensive matter.

If you have not decided in a topic yet, get ideas for topics using encyclopedias or the Opposing Viewpoints series.


Most encyclopedias, dictionaries and the opposing viewpoint series are located in the reference area, on the second floor of the library they must to be used in the library only.


Opposing Viewpoints in Context

 Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) provides full text online access to a multidisciplinary social issues and controversies covered by the Opposing Viewpoint book series as  well as full text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles; primary source documents; government and organizational statistics; multimedia, including images and podcasts; links to hand-selected web sites; and more.


Finding Background Information Online

When finding background information online go beyond Wikipedia; use authoritative encyclopedias and dictionaries that the UTEP Library subscribes to. Two good online databases that  provide valuable background information are Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) and  Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library  provides access to a large and varied collection of electronic reference books published by Gale such as dictionaries and encyclopedias.   

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |