UTEP Library Research Guides: HSCI 3322: Sports Nutrition: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Why Use Dictionaries and Encyclopedias ?

Finding background information will help you understand the broader context of your topic. Nutrition and sports medicine encyclopedias will concisely cover topics such as ergogenic aids in athletes; while dictionaries will help you understand the terminology of the discipline. The following is a list of encyclopedias and dictionaries covering sports nutrition topics which will help you get started in your research.

Athlete Portrait of Matt Sanders by Airman Magazine

Encyclopedias

Nutrition and Well-Being A to Z by Delores C. S. James
ISBN: 9780028657073
This online encyclopedia examines the relationship between food and health on a historical, national and personal level. It analyzes how nutrition has affected quality of life, health and fitness in various countries at different times in history.
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition by Benjamin Caballero; Lindsay Allen; Andrew Prentice
ISBN: 9780121501105
Online Encyclopedia that covers the scientific, political, and social aspects of nutrition. Subjects include: individual nutrients and foods, anatomy and physiology, nutritional therapy for diseases and conditions, nutritional management of refugees, nutrition education, religious customs, and folklore.
Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine by Lyle J. Micheli
Call Number: REF RC1206 .E53 2011
ISBN: 9781412961158
The Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine describes all aspects of the field with perspectives, concepts, and methods from the medical, behavioral, and social sciences and physical education. The encyclopedia is located in the reference area in the 2nd floor of library around it you will find other sport encyclopedias. You cannot checkout the encyclopedias only used in the library.

Dictionaries

CRC Desk Reference on Sport Nutrition by Kerk Mark
ISBN: 9780849322730
This online dictionary /encyclopedia includes definition, paragraph, essays, composition, article, or feature article. Many entries are supported with figures or tables.
Food and Fitness by Michael Kent
ISBN: 0198631472
This online dictionary enables users to evaluate the claims made about different diets and types of exercise. In the search box type your requested terminology to get definition.
The International Dictionary of Food and Nutrition by Kenneth N. Anderson; Lois E. Anderson
ISBN: 9780471559573
The International Dictionary of Food & Nutrition presents a bounty of definitions and descriptions of words, phrases, and terms related to foods, their preparation and production, and more.