Skip to main content

Endangered Animals: Databases

Quick links

Letsatsi, White Lion

Image Credit: Arno Meintjes

White Lion, Conservation status: Vulnerable

Letsatsi is a White Lion from The Lion Park in South Africa.  White Lions are Transvaal Lions, also knowns as Southeast African Lions, with a recessive gene that makes their fur light-colored.

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)  Comprehensive bibliographic index for multidisciplinary literature. Formats indexed include books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes social sciences, arts and humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, health sciences, multicultural studies, and many more.

Aluka: Building a Digital Library of Scholarly Resources From and About Africa  Fully-integrated web site that provides full text online access to a variety of resources and data related to Africa derived from major repositories and contributors around the world. Aluka is composed of three collections resulting from long-term collaborations with academic institutions, libraries, and research communities: African Cultural Heritage Sites and Landscapes, African Plants, and Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa.

BioOne  Provides bibliographic citations, abstracts, and complete full text access to a unique aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals focusing on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.

Biological Sciences (ProQuest)  Interdisciplinary bibliographic index for research literature in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology, and ecology, as well as some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ProQuest)  Provides comprehensive indexing for literature in the environmental sciences taken from journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books, and government publications.

Films on Demand: Digital Educational Video  State-of-the-art streaming video platform produced by the Films Media Group (FMG), composed of Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware. Streaming video content, ranging from clips to complete documentary films, may be incorporated into content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic library card catalog systems. Several titles include closed captioning.

Sustainability Science Abstracts (ProQuest)  Bibliographic index for literature pertaining to the management of human use and conservation of natural resources for current and future generations. Subject coverage includes species and genetic diversity, protection of habitats and ecosystems, and the economics of sustainability.

Web of Science  Provides access to Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Includes a broad selection of prestigious, high impact, academic research journals as well as cited reference searching.

Zoological Record  Comprehensive bibliographic index for international literature in the life sciences covering every aspect of animal biology from biodiversity and the environment to taxonomy and veterinary sciences.

Subject Guide

Les Arms's picture
Les Arms
Contact:
915.747.6701

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |