Skip to main content

Genetically Modified Foods: Databases

Information and Resources on Genetically Modified Foods

Scientific Databases

There have been many studies on the sideaffects of Genetically Modified foods.  The studies are posted primarily in scientific journals.  These will be some of the best databases to find them.

Agricola  Provides access to two separate, bibliographic indices that contain citations to literature dealing with all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines: the National Agricultural Library's (NAL) Online Public Access Catalog and NAL's Article Citation Database. Subject coverage includes animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.

Biological Sciences (Proquest)  Interdisciplinary bibliographic index for research literature in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology, and ecology, as well as some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Publications indexed include journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs, selected books, and patents.

Environmental Sciences and Polution Management  Provides comprehensive indexing for literature in the environmental sciences taken from journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books, and government publications.

JStor Plant Science  Provides access to an integrated online environment that brings together content, tools, and people interested in plant science. Indexed content includes foundation materials vital to plant science, ranging from plant type specimens and taxonomic structures to scientific literature and related publications. Search interface provides functionality that supports research and teaching, including the ability to measure and record plant specimens, share observations and objects with colleagues and classmates, and investigate global plant biodiversity. Subject coverage is international in scope and includes botany, biology, ecology, and environmental and conservation studies throughout the world.

MEDLINE (OVID)  Bibliographic index for international literature pertaining to biomedicine, bioengineering, and health. Subject coverage includes a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services as well as nursing, dentistry, and veterinary medicine.

Plant Science (CSA)  Bibliographic index for research literature on all aspects of plant science. Subject coverage includes pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, techniques, and environmental biology. Publications indexed include journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, and books.

ScienceDirect  Provides bibliographic citations, abstracts, and complete full text for Elsevier publications. Some items link to full text content provided by other publishers or vendors. Access to full text is based on institutional subscriptions. Subject coverage includes biology, chemistry, business, mathematics, engineering, environmental science, materials science, computer science, medicine, psychology, the social sciences, and physics.

Sustainability Science Abstracts (Proquest)  Bibliographic index for literature pertaining to the management of human use and conservation of natural resources for current and future generations. Subject coverage includes species and genetic diversity, protection of habitats and ecosystems, and the economics of sustainability. Materials indexed include relevant papers, reports, books and reviews from standard peer-reviewed scientific journals as well as conference proceedings and hard-to-find gray literature.

Web of Science  Provides access to Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Includes a broad selection of prestigious, high impact, academic research journals as well as cited reference searching.

Wiley Online Library  Provides bibliographic citations, abstracts, and full text for a wide variety of peer-reviewed primary research and survey journals published by John Wiley & Sons, Inc. in partnership with several prestigious international scholarly and professional associations. Subject coverage includes business, economics, finance, accounting, chemistry, earth and environmental science, education, engineering, humanities, social science, information science and computing, law and criminology, life science, medicine, mathematics and statistics, health science, veterinary medicine, physics and astronomy, polymers and materials science, and psychology.

Subject Guide

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |