Skip to main content

Astronomy: Databases

Star Formation in the Tarantula Nebula

Star Formation in the Tarantula Nebula Image Credit: NASA, ESA, ESO, D. Lennon (ESA/STScI) et al., and the Hubble Heritage Team (STScI/AURA)

Image Credit: NASA, ESA, ESO, D. Lennon (ESA/STScI) et al., and the Hubble Heritage Team (STScI/AURA)

Databases

These are recommended databases to find good articles or information on Astronomy. 

Academic Search Complete  Comprehensive bibliographic index for multidisciplinary literature. Formats indexed include books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes social sciences, arts and humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, health sciences, multicultural studies, and many more.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)Provides indexing, abstracting, and free full text access for selected international scholarly journals in many subject areas, including agriculture and food science, biology, chemistry, health science, languages and literature, mathematics, physics, engineering, the arts, business, environmental science, history, law, political science, philosophy, religion, and social science.

IOPscience  Integrated content platform that provides access to bibliographic citations, abstracts, and full text for publications of IOP Publishing (Institute of Physics Publishing) and its partners.

NTIS (Proquest)  Provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts for U.S. government-sponsored research and worldwide scientific, technical, governmental, engineering, and business-related information, produced by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). Source publications include unclassified and publicly available information from research reports, journal articles, data files, computer programs, and audio visual products from U.S. Federal agencies as well as from some international government departments and organizations.

PapersInvited  Comprehensive database of calls for papers and posters issued by academic and professional conferences or publications across all subject disciplines. Assists scientists, corporate researchers, faculty, and students with tracking calls for papers from various professional organizations, universities, and academic journals. Useful for academic and research constituency who want to keep abreast of and contribute to the latest developments by attending conferences to present and publish papers. Includes a listing of student competitions (bachelor's level and above).

Science.gov  Science.gov is the official FirstGov for Science cross-agency portal that provides a gateway to a large body of authoritative, selected, scientific information developed by an interagency working group of science and technical organizations from federal government science agencies. Two major types of information are included: science-related web sites and often hard-to-access scientific databases (specific content varies by database). Subject coverage includes agriculture, natural resources, food and nutrition, applied science and technology, astronomy and space, science education, energy and energy conservation, health and medicine, biology, and the environment.

Web Of Knowledge  Provides access to Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Includes a broad selection of prestigious, high impact, academic research journals as well as cited reference searching.

Subject Guide

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |