UTEP Library Research Guides: HSCI 1301: Foundations of Health Promotion: Reference Sources

Reference Sources

Reference sources include encyclopedias, dictionaries and bibliographic sources; public health reference sources describe concisely health topics. Public health encyclopedia articles can help you to quickly identify concepts, topics, and issues surrounding health promotion. The majority of print reference materials are located on the second floor of the library in the reference shelves and cannot be checked out. We also have electronic reference sources that can be accessed 24/7.

Print Reference

A Dictionary of Public Health Promotion and Education by Naomi N. Modeste
Call Number: RA440.5 .M634 1996
ISBN: 0761900020
This user-friendly dictionary provides definitions of a wide range of terms and concepts used by health professionals in the field of health promotion and health education. The terms reflect the process of health promotion and education in four settings: community; workplace; primary care; and schools.

The reference sources below are located in the Reference collection (2nd floor) of the library.

Encyclopedia of Public Health by Lester Breslow (Editor)
Call Number: RA423 .E53 2002
ISBN: 0028653548
This four-volume compilation provides basic information on more than 900 programs, services, organizations, health behaviors, and the prevalence, epidemiology, and costs of communicable diseases. Although the work focuses on the United States, there are also references to worldwide problems.
International Encyclopedia of Public Health by Kristian Heggenhougen (Editor-In-Chief); Stella Quah (Editor)
Call Number: RA423 .I68 2008
ISBN: 9780122272257
Comprehensive guide to the major issues, challenges, methods, and approaches of global public health. This encyclopedia will cover all dimensions of the field, from details of specific diseases to the organization of social insurance agencies.

Electronic References

Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior by Norman B. Anderson (Editor)
ISBN: 0761923608
Publication Date: 2004
This encyclopedia has over 200 entries on topics covering all aspects of health and behavior; plus a comprehensive set of additional resources with both entries on selected organizations and an appendix with a detailed annotated listing of such organizations as well as Web sites of interest.

Off campus access to the reference sources in this section are available to current UTEP faculty, staff, and students using the Campus VPN.

Nutrition and Well-Being A to Z by Delores C. S. James
ISBN: 9780028657073
Publication Date: 2004
Examines the relationship between food and health on a historical, national and personal level. It analyzes how nutrition has affected quality of life, health and fitness in various countries at different times in history.
Encyclopedia of Public Health by Wilhelm Kirch (Editor)
ISBN: 9781402056147
Publication Date: 2008
Summarizes current knowledge in the field of public health. Includes public health research, practice and policy based on multidisciplinary activities, drawing from fields such as sociology, statistics, economics, psychology, social work, and clinical medicine.
Encyclopedia of Global Health by Yawei Zhang (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412941860
Publication Date: 2008
Covers all aspects of global health, including physical and mental health entries, biographies of major doctors and researchers, profiles of medical institutions, organizations, and corporations, descriptions of drugs and operations, articles on national health policies, and thematic health topics in the humanities.
Health Issues by Tracy Irons-Georges (Editorial Coordinator); Salem Press Editors (Editor)
ISBN: 9780893560423
Publication Date: 2001
The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets by Jacqueline L. Longe (Editor)
ISBN: 9781414429915
Publication Date: 2007
Covers topics such as dieting and popular diets, dietary concerns, nutritional basics, and the effects of a person's dietary choices on one's health. Topics are organized around the development and history of a diet, its basic principles, any key figures that influence the trend, and any public or regulatory concerns associated with the practice. Provides information across all age groups from infants to the elderly.