Skip to main content

ESOL 1312: Research & Critical Writing : Finding Information

Finding Books, Videos and Government Documents

To finding books, videos, and government documents in the library you will need to use the Library Catalog.

Use Encore to do a quick search of the Library Catalog.

  1. If you find materials in print, write down the Title, the Location, and the Call Number.
  2. When you are ready to check out materials, take them to the Circulation Desk and show them your student ID.
  3. Materials that are for library use only cannot be checked out.

Finding Materials in the UTEP Library

Locations in the UTEP library

Reading Library of Congress Call Numbers

Finding Articles

To find magazine, newspaper, and scholarly articles you will need to use the Library's Databases. The UTEP Library subscribes to over 300 databases.

It is recommended that you start searching in a multidisciplinary database such as Academic Search Complete. Then turn to specialized databases such as Business Source Complete, Education Full Text, Health Source: Consumer Edition
and PsycINFO depending on your topic. 

Academic Search Complete

 Academic Search Complete is the most commonly searched database by UTEP undergraduates because it is a multidisciplinary database and links to more relevant and authoritative sources than Google. 

Finding Full Article in Databases

This video will teach you how to find full-text articles in online databases from the UTEP Library.

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |