Resources for the history of the University of Texas at El Paso formerly known as Texas Western College, Texas State School of Mines and College of Mines, and University of Texas State School of Mines and Metallurgy.
In honor of the University of Texas at El Paso’s Centennial, the UTEP Library’s Special Collections Department has been digitizing many of the University’s publications. This site will allow many books, journals, yearbooks, and pamphlets to be freely available to the public for research.
The "Chronological History of UTEP Buildings" Timeline was compiled by Willie Quinn, a member of the UTEP Heritage Commission, between the period of January 2002 and September 2005, for the 90th Anniversary of the school. It was recently updated to July 2015 for UTEP's Centennial Celebration. The final product is a computer spreadsheet equivalent to the physical size of 32 individual legal size paper sheets, when joined together forms a wall chart about 3 feet wide by 10 feet long.
Located in Media & Microforms.
Videotaping of presentation for the Friends of the University Library's 20th Anniversary. The speaker Dr. Haskell Monroe was president of UTEP 1980-87 and directed the building of the Library.
Link goes to Texas Archive of the Moving Image
C.L. Sonnichsen Special Collections Department, University of Texas at El Paso Library
This promotional film for the University of Texas at El Paso, then called Texas Western College, presents the founding, achievements, and academic and athletic offerings of the first 45 years of the institution's history.
Provides full-text/full-image access to the historical digital archives of The Prospector, a publication of the Division of Student Affairs, University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP). Coverage: 1915 - 2003. Updates vary.
Every newspaper in the database is fully searchable by keyword and date, making it easy to quickly explore historical content. Use the archive to gain a local perspective on historical news, to research your family history, or to simply read about a person or event of interest. We invite you to visit the archive often, as additional pages will be added as they become available. This archive is hosted by NewspaperARCHIVE.com largest historical newspaper database online.
Joseph Ray was president of the Texas Western College when it became the University of Texas at El Paso, and he has some reminiscences of regents and chancellors in his papers. There is also his personal journal with notes taken at the Board of Regents meeting when they learned of John F. Kennedy's assassination. Portraits of the UT System Chancellors. This collection of portraits formerly hung in the UTEP Administration Building.