Skip to main content

Finding Dissertations and Theses: Home

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Database

Provides bibliographic indexing for nearly all doctoral dissertations and Master's theses accepted at North American academic institutions. Selectively indexes dissertations and theses from academic institutions in Great Britain, Europe, and other countries around the globe. Dissertations published since July 1980 include abstracts written by the author. Theses published since 1988 include brief abstracts. All titles published since 1997 include 24-page previews and complete full text; selected full text is available for earlier dates. Many titles can also be ordered online using a personal credit card. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary. Coverage: 1637 - present (overall); bulk from 1861 - present. Updated monthly. NOTE: Includes all of UTEP's Master's theses and doctoral dissertations in online format as found in Dissertations & Theses @ University of Texas - El Paso (ProQuest). To locate printed or microfilm copies of theses and dissertations for UTEP, check Nugget, the UTEP Library Catalog. ATTENTION - UTEP GRADUATE STUDENTS: If you can't find your Master's thesis or Ph.D. dissertation in this database, contact Olympia Caudillo, Graduation Evaluator, at (915) 747-7902 or check the Degree Application Procedures page for more information.

Why search Theses and Dissertations

First let's find what the defintions of Theses and Dissertations are: (Merriam-Webster dictionary)

Dissertation = "an extended usually written treatment of a subject; specifically: submitted for a doctorate"

Thesis = "a dissertation embodying results of original research and especially substantiating a specific view; one written by candidate for an academic degree"

They contain research methodologies studied and/or literature reviews required for a doctoral or master's degree. Reviewing these resources can be helpful. 

Locating Theses and Dissertations

1. From the library homepage click on Databases under Online Resources.

2. On the alphabetical list click on P for ProQuest.

3. Look for and click on Proquest Dissertations and Theses.

4. Click on ProQuest Dissertations and Theses again, where it says "Link to database".

 

Subject Guide

Sebastian Diaz's picture
Sebastian Diaz
Contact:
University of Texas at El Paso
Library
Room 322
915 747 6721

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |