Skip to main content

Borderlands History: Gender in the borderlands

Gives a few examples of primary sources for Borderlands history in the UTEP Library

Special Collections sources for the history of gender and sexuality in the Borderlands

 

Special Collections sources for the history of gender and sexuality in the Borderlands

 

Books in SW, MS, Rare, Rare-L, Hertzog, Military

First-person accounts, i.e.  Where the Creosote Blooms: A Memoir F394.E4 R63 1999

City directories/phone books

UTEP catalogs and directories

School yearbooks

Secondary history books, i.e. The Gentlemen’s Club: The History of Prostitution in El Paso HQ146.E4 F76 1983

 

Manuscript and Photograph collection (examples for some topics)

 -Women’s organizations

            Woman’s Club of El Paso records, MS576

El Paso Graduate Nurses Association records, MS276

            Pan American Round Table of El Paso, MS526

            Woman’s Department, El Paso Chamber of Commerce records, MS356

-LGBT issues

            Maria Norma Montellano papers, MS441

            Lesbian and Gay ephemera collection, MS322

            Victor Macías papers, MS413

-Immigration

            National Catholic Welfare Conference case files, MS 173

            Cleofas Calleros papers, MS 231

-Education

            Alvarado (David) et al vs. El Paso Independent School District, MS 221

            UTEP Collection, MS 001

            Junior College of El Paso collection, MS 268

-Military bases and operations

            Millard McKinney papers, MS 505

            Terry de Ia Mesa Allen papers, MS 307

-Agriculture and ranching

            Thomas family papers, MS 400

            Porcher family business records, MS 384

-Extractive industries

            Gertrude Fitzgerald photographs, PH 025 (mining, lumber)

            Chisos Mining records, MS 044, MS 014

            Hyslop-Beckmann family papers, MS 211 

Maps

Sanborn Fire Insurance maps, MS 133


Oral history

          http://digitalcommons.utep.edu/oral_history/

 

Periodicals

          Microcosm. Special Collections Cage HQ75 .M53

          Back Street Special Collections Cage HQ75 .B335

          El Callejón Special Collections Cage HQ75 .C355

          El Paso Herald-Post http://0-access.newspaperarchive.com.lib.utep.edu/

 

Government Records

            El Paso County records, MS132 http://libraryweb.utep.edu/special/finding_aids/MS132_El-Paso-County-Records.pdf

            Ciudad Juarez Municipal Archives (on microfilm) Guide at http://digitalcommons.utep.edu/guides/1/

Subject Guide

Claudia Rivers's picture
Claudia Rivers
Contact:
Library, Sixth Floor
915/747-6725

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |