Skip to main content

Public Health: Databases

Resources for students in the area of public health.

Databases

Biblioteca Virtual em Saúde
Es una colección descentralizada y dinámica de fuentes de información cuyo objetivo es el acceso equitativo al conocimiento científico en salud. Es mantenido por BIREME, un Centro Especializado de la OPS. Esta colección opera como red de productos y servicios en la Internet, para satisfacer progresivamente las necesidades de información en salud de autoridades, administradores, investigadores, profesores, estudiantes, profesionales de los medios de comunicación y público en general. Se distingue del conjunto de fuentes de información disponibles en la Internet por obedecer a criterios de selección y control de calidad.

 

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) [EBSCO]

Bibliographic index for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare derived from English-language and selected international source materials. Subject coverage includes management, behavioral sciences, health sciences, librarianship, education, and consumer health. Materials indexed include journals, books, book chapters, pamphlets, audiovisuals, dissertations, educational software, conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts, critical paths, and research instruments. Many citations include abstracts and some include full text or links to full text, based on institutional subscriptions. Coverage: 1982 - present (updated monthly). NOTE: Now includes all content from Pre-CINAHL (EBSCO).

 

CINAHL Headings

Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome

Air Pollution, Indoor

Breast Neoplasms

Diabetes Mellitus

Domestic Violence

HIV Education
Pregnancy Outcomes

Nutrition

Tuberculosis

 

 

Consumer Health Complete [EBSCO]

Fully-integrated search interface designed to provide access to easily understandable consumer health information. Content ranges from mainstream health and wellness to complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine. Subject coverage includes aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, fitness, nutrition and dietetics, children's health, and more. Materials indexed include magazine and journal articles, pamphlets, Spanish-language health reports and newswires, medical encyclopedias and reference books, images, diagrams, animations, and streaming videos. Includes Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. Most citations include abstracts and full text or link to full text content from other providers based on institutional subscriptions. NOTE: Contains the databases Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO) and Alt HealthWatch (EBSCO).

 

SUBJECT HEADINGS

AIDS

Alternative medicine

Alternative treatments

Diabetes Mellitus

HIV

Nutrition

Pregnancy

Tuberculosis

Vaccine

 

Contemporary Women’s Issues (CWI) [EBSCO]

Comprehensive bibliographic index that provides abstracts and full text for international literature in the field of Women's Studies. Subject coverage includes domestic violence, employment and the workplace, gender equity, the family, lesbian studies, reproductive health, and human rights. Materials indexed range from journals, books, and the alternative press to gray literature compiled from overlooked or hard-to-find newsletters and Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) research reports. Rarely indexed or cataloged ephemeral literature from leading research institutes and grass roots organizations is also included. Coverage: 1992 - present (updated weekly).

 

SUBJECT HEADINGS

Air quality

Alternative treatment

Breast cancer

Diabetes

Nutrition

Pediatric Obesity

Tuberculosis

Vaccines

 

 

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management [CSA]

Provides comprehensive indexing for literature in the environmental sciences taken from journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books, and government publications. Citations include abstracts and links to some full text based on institutional subscriptions. Coverage: 1981 - present (updated monthly).

 

SUBJECT HEADINGS

Air pollution
Nutrition

Pregnancy

Tuberculosis

Vaccines

 

 

Health and Safety Science Abstracts [CSA – Subfile]

Comprehensive bibliographic index for literature relating to public health, safety, industrial hygiene, and human factors research. Subject areas range from aviation, aerospace, environmental, nuclear, and medical safety to occupational safety and ergonomics. Health and safety related aspects of pollution, waste disposal, radiation, pesticides, and epidemics are also included. Materials indexed include government technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and monographs. Citations include abstracts and some include links to full text articles, based on institutional subscriptions. Coverage: 1981 - present (updated monthly)

 

SUBJECT HEADINGS

Air quality

Breast cancer

Nutrition

Pregnancy

 

 

Health and Wellness Resource Center [Gale]

Bibliographic index that provides access to a wide variety of consumer-oriented health and wellness information. Subject coverage includes physical fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, as well as prescription and over-the-counter drugs. Materials indexed include journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, pamphlets, health-related web sites, and medical reference books such as Mosby's Medical, Nursing, and Allied Health Dictionary, PDR Family Guide to Prescription Drugs, and the Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine. Most citations include full text, based on licensing restrictions. Coverage: 1980 - present.

 

SUBJECT HEADINGS

Alcohol education

Alternative treatment

Breast cancer

Drug education

Intimate partner violence

Nutrition

Pediatric obesity

Pregnancy outcome

Prevention of AIDS

Prevention of HIV

Tuberculosis

Vaccines

 

 

Health Reference Center – Academic [Gale]

Bibliographic index for literature derived from general interest health and fitness magazines, medical and professional journals, medical reference books, newsletters, and pamphlets. Subject coverage includes physical fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, pediatrics, public health, psychology, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, prescription and over-the-counter drugs, and more. Most citations include full text, based on licensing restrictions. Coverage: 1980 - present.

 

SUBJECT HEADINGS

AIDS prevention

Alcohol education

Alternative medicine

Diabetes mellitus

Domestic violence

Drug education

HIV prevention

Infectious disease

Nutrition

Pediatric obesity

Vaccines 

 

 

MEDLINE [EBSCO]

Comprehensive index for international literature in biomedicine, bioengineering, and health. Includes those areas of the life, behavioral, and chemical sciences needed by health professionals and others engaged in basic research and clinical care, public health, health policy development, or related educational activities. Subject coverage includes medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the pre-clinical sciences. Materials indexed include scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters. Many citations include abstracts and some include full text or links to full text, based on institutional subscriptions. Coverage: 1966 - present.

 

MeSH Headings

Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome

Air Pollution, Indoor

Breast Neoplasms

Diabetes Mellitus, Type 1

Diabetes Mellitus, Type 2

Domestic violence

HIV

Pediatrics

Pregnancy outcome

Obesity, Morbid

Tuberculosis

Vaccines

 

 

PubMed

PubMed is a free service provided by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) of the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). It provides indexing for bibliographic citations from MEDLINE (1966 - present), OLDMEDLINE (1950 - 1965), out-of-scope and publisher-supplied citations, in-process records, and selected other NLM-reviewed life science journal articles with full text in PubMedCentral. Provides comprehensive coverage of international biomedical literature. Materials indexed include scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters. Many citations include abstracts and some include free full text or links to full text, based on institutional subscriptions. Other databases on the cross-searchable platform include Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and more. Coverage: 1950 - present (overall). Updated daily.

 

MeSH Headings

Air Pollution, Indoor

Alternative medicine

Alternative therapies

Breast neoplasms

Diabetes Mellitus

Domestic violence

Infectious Disease Medicine

Nutritional sciences

Pregnancy outcome

Promotion of health

Tuberculosis

Vaccines

 

 

SciELIO [The Scientific Electronic Library Online]

La Scientific Electronic Library Online - SciELO es una biblioteca electrónica que abarca una colección seleccionada de revistas científicas Brasileñas. La biblioteca es resultado de un proyecto de investigación de la FAPESP - Fundação de Amparo à Pesquisa do Estado de São Paulo, en colaboración con BIREME - Centro Latinoamericano y del Caribe de Información en Ciencias de la Salud. A partir de 2002, el Proyecto conta con el apoyo del CNPq - Conselho Nacional de Desenvolvimento Científico e Tecnológico. El proyecto contempla el desarrollo de una metodología común para la preparación, almacenamiento, diseminación y evaluación de literatura científica en formato electrónico. Con el desarrollo del proyecto, nuevos títulos son añadidos a la colección de la biblioteca.

 

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |