UTEP Library Research Guides: Public Health: Encyclopedias

Subject Headings

Aging--United States

Developmental psychology--Encyclopedias

Diet--Encyclopedias

Geriatrics--Encyclopedias

Gerontology--Encyclopedias

Health--Encyclopedias

Health policy--Encyclopedias--English

Human biology--Encyclopedias

Human body--Encyclopedias

Human behavior--Encyclopedias

Nutrition--Encyclopedias

Physiology--Encyclopedias

Public health--Encyclopedias

Public health--Research

Old age--United States

Social evolution--Encyclopedias

World health--Encyclopedias

Public health--United States

Print and Electronic Resources

Please Note: The links to the electronic resources go to the catalog record (description) of the book. There will be a box that says, "Connect To." From there, using your username and password, you can gain access to that electronic book. If you have problems, please contact the reference desk, 747-5643.

Encyclopedia of Aging and Public Health [electronic resource] by Sana Loue, Martha Sajatovic
ISBN: 0387337539
Students, faculty and staff of UTEP can access this resource from on-campus and other locations with log-in information. Information available includes the history of aging in the US, types of changes and problems the elderly encounter, and ethics of working with this population.
Encyclopedia of Gerontology [electronic resource] by James E. Birren (ed.)
ISBN: 0123705304
Students, faculty and staff of UTEP can access this resource from on-campus and other locations with log-in information. Two-volume set which covers numerous topics in the area of gerontology. Helpful for students who want to learn more about this vast field.
Encyclopedia of Global Health [electronic resource] by Yawei Zhang (general editor)
ISBN: 1412941865
Students, faculty and staff of UTEP can access this resource from on-campus and other locations with log-in information. In addition to current topics, this reference source includes biographies of key figures, background information on medical institutions and organizations, as well as descriptions of drugs and procedures.
Encyclopedia of Human Biology by Renato Dulbecco (editor-in-chief)
Call Number: QP11.E53 1991 v.1 (Reference--2nd Floor)
ISBN: 0122269705
Nine-volume set with extensive coverage in the area of human biology and biomedicine.
Encyclopedia of Human Development [electronic resource] by Neil J. Salkind (ed.)
ISBN: 1412904757
Students, faculty and staff of UTEP can access this resource from on-campus and other locations with log-in information. Three-volume set with 600 entries and topics include the life span, older development, adolescence, language, mental health and disorders, intelligence and much more.
Encyclopedia of Public Health [electronic resource] by Wilhelm Kirch (ed.).
ISBN: 1402056133
Students, faculty and staff of UTEP can access this resource from on-campus and other locations with log-in information. Resource about current topics in the field of public health and related areas (i.e. psychology, sociology, statistics, clinical medicine).
Gale Encyclopedia of Diets: A Guide to Health and Nutrition [electronic resource] by Jacqueline L. Longe (ed.).
ISBN: 1414429916
Students, faculty and staff of UTEP can access this resource from on-campus and other locations with log-in information. Two volume set with 275 entries in the area of diet, nutrition, and health. The entries describe the topics and include further details by subcategory. Diet includes information about function, benefits and risks. Nutrition includes precautions and interactions. Health includes demographics, treatment and prevention.
International Encyclopedia of Public Health by Kris Heggenhougen (editor-in-chief)
Call Number: RA423 .I68 2008 v.1 (Reference—2nd Floor)
ISBN: 0122272250
Six volume set covers all areas of public health, including diseases, aging, injuries, ethical and legal issues, anthropology, economics, history of public health and global concerns. Numerous entries are illustrated and cross-reference to enhance the user’s understanding.
The Oxford Companion to the Body [electronic resource] by Colin Blackmore, Sheila Jennett (eds.)
ISBN: 019852403X
Students, faculty and staff of UTEP can access this resource from on-campus and other locations with log-in information. Over 1,000 entries and note since written and produced by Oxford, the writing is in British-English. Includes some drawings and photographs to enhance the entries.