UTEP Library Research Guides: Public Health: Dictionaries

Print and Electronic Resources

A Dictionary of Public Health by John M. Last (ed.).
Call Number: RA 423 .L37 2007 (Reference—2nd Floor)
ISBN: 0195160908
Reference book which includes almost 5,000 entries in the area of public health science. Entries are cross-referenced to help the user understand the terms and concepts more fully.

Please Note: The links to the electronic resources go to the catalog record (description) of the book. There will be a box that says, "Connect To." From there, using your username and password, you can gain access to that electronic book. If you have problems, please contact the reference desk, 747-5643.

A Dictionary of Public Health Promotion and Education: Terms and Concepts by Naomi N. Modeste
Call Number: RA440.5 .M634 1996 (Reference—2nd Floor)
ISBN: 0787969192
Covers commonly used terms and concepts in the area of public health. In addition terms found in related fields are included.
Balanced Diet: A Medical Dictionary, Bibliography, and Annotated Research Guide to Internet References [electronic resource] by James N. Parker and Philip M. parker (eds.).
ISBN: 0497001233
Students, faculty and staff of UTEP can access this resource from on-campus and other locations with log-in information. In addition to the entries covering medical terms, there is a wide-ranging list of resources for further study. This electronic resource also includes information on reputable websites in the area of nutrition and diet.
Concise Medical Dictionary, 6th ed. [electronic resource]
ISBN: 0199557144
Students, faculty and staff of UTEP can access this resource from on-campus and other locations with log-in information. Students, faculty and staff of UTEP can access this resource from on-campus or other locations with log-in information. Over 11,000 entries. Easy to understand reference tool which includes illustrations and diagrams.
Dorland’s Illustrated Medical Dictionary, 31st ed.
Call Number: R121 .D73 31st (Reference Desk—2nd Floor)
ISBN: 1416049983
Excellent medical dictionary. Entries are cross-referenced and includes illustrations, photographs, and tables.
The Aspen Dictionary of Health Care Administration by Arnold S. Goldstein
Call Number: RA 971 .G579 1989 (Main Stacks—5th Floor)
ISBN: 0834200775
Dictionary covers commonly used words in the field of health care administration. Entries are cross-referenced and includes commonly used abbreviations and acronyms.
The Oxford Illustrated Companion to Medicine, 3rd ed. by Stephen Lock, John M. Last, George Dunea (eds.)
Call Number: R121. O884 2001 (Reference—2nd Floor)
ISBN: 0192629506
Entries cover numerous and wide-range topics. Includes indices for topics, people, general, and conditions and diseases.
The Penguin Dictionary of Human Biology by Michael Thain
Call Number: QH34 .5 .T5 2009 (Main Stacks—4th Floor)
ISBN: 0140514821
Excellent resource in the area of human biology. The entries include illustrations and diagrams to enhance the user’s understanding of the topics.