Collection Development Policies: Military History Collection

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT POLICY
Subject: S. L. A. MARSHALL MILITARY HISTORY COLLECTION
(C. L. Sonnichsen Special Collections Department)

Program Description:

Although this special topical collection is not linked directly to any degree program, it does support several academic subjects, most specifically history, and is also used by students in other academic areas, such as Military Science, Humanities, and Theater (costume design.)

Description of Existing Collection:
NCIP Code: 2A

This collection began with the acquisition of the personal library of military historian S.L.A. Marshall in 1974, and has been added to over the years by purchase and donation. The collection currently has over 12,000 titles, spanning a wide range of call numbers in the Library of Congress classification system, but principally within the D's and U's. Dust jackets are kept with the books, and first editions or books in fine condition are preferred when selecting from gifts or catalogs. The collection does not circulate. Although the publication date range of books in the collection is eighteenth century to the present, most of the books are from the twentieth century.

The size of the collection has out-grown its original room, and so it has recently been divided into two sections: those still housed in the S.L.A. Marshall Military History Room and those housed in the Rare book stacks. Those books housed in the Rare Book Stacks are those with publication dates earlier than 1918 and those with inscriptions or signatures making them more valuable because of association value. Another, smaller, number of books are classified as Military Rare-Locked, and are kept in locked cabinets in the Military History Room. The books in the locked cabinets are predominantly books written by S.L.A. Marshall and specially bound, as well as some of the older or scarcer volumes.

The content spans all periods of military history, from ancient times to the present, but with the period most documented being World War II. Other areas of strength include the Mexican Revolution, the Mexican American War, and World War I. The histories of army units, particularly cavalry units, in the American West are also frequently consulted works.

Few journal subscriptions support this collection, but several periodicals are represented with long runs within the collection. One uncataloged collection not reflected in the title count is a group of several hundred military manuals.

Current Collecting Intensity:
NCIP Code: 2A

The collection is currently supported only by income from royalties on the publications of S.L.A. Marshall, which were assigned to the University Library by Gen. Marshall's widow, Catherine Marshall. Thus, the acquisition of materials depends to a great extent on gifts. Usually, material that is purchased is that deemed by the curator of the collection to be unlikely to come in as a gift. Examples of materials purchased are out-of-print books on military topics and new reference sets. The collection also receives as gifts many government publications, namely those from the Center for Military History. At least one subscription is currently received as a gift, but comes in hand-delivered by a patron, and so is not a reliable resource for the future. This collection is growing at a steady pace because it is the frequent recipient of gifts. One potential addition which has been mentioned is a sizeable collection on military affairs in the nineteenth-century British empire owned by a former UTEP staff member.

Desired Collection Level
NCIP Code: 2B

More journals supporting the collection would be desirable, as would the regular addition of Mexican military materials. Mexican materials are desired because of our location on the border, but Mexican governmental or para-governmental agencies' publications are hard to locate and acquire.

Other Resources:

Several of Special Collections' manuscript collections support the Military History Collection, most notably the S.L.A. Marshall papers, the Kimborough Brown collection on military aviation, The Terry de la Mesa Allen papers, the Frank S. Ross papers, the John. G. Westover papers, the George Ruhlen papers, the Eva Spencer Osterberg papers, the Stacy Hinkle papers, the Edward Hinkle papers, the Bruno Rolak collection, the Edwin C. Parsons papers, several small collections relating to the Mexican Revolution, and other topical or photographic collections. Other local resources include the Fort Bliss Museums and the Sergeants-Major Academy Library on Fort Bliss.

Last updated: 3/20/05