Collection Development Policies: Nursing

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT POLICY
Subject: NURSING

Degrees offered:	B.S. Nursing M.S. Nursing Ph.D in Interdisciplinary Health Sciences
Number of faculty:	35 full time and 16 part time
Number of majors in the program:	Undergraduate 939* Graduate 105*
Accreditation agency:	Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) and Texas State Board of Nurse Examiners
Faculty Liaison:	Jana McCallister
Library Subject Specialists:	Harvey Castellano, Angela Lucero, Elizabeth Torres
Department Chair:	Elias Provencio-Vasquez
* Fall, 2004 data as reported in The University of Texas at El Paso FACT BOOK 2004-2005, Center for Institutional Evaluation, Research and Planning, University of Texas at El Paso, 2005.

 

Program Description

A baccalaureate nursing program was established at El Paso in 1970 under the administration of The University of Texas System School of Nursing. Housed in the old Daughters of Charity of St. Vincent de Paul’s Hotel Dieu, the School of Nursing was able to build enrollment. In 1976, the School of Nursing became an integral part of The University of Texas at El Paso and was organized as a College of Nursing. The Health Sciences Programs were transferred to the College in 1979, and shortly thereafter, the name was changed to the College of Nursing and Health Sciences. Then in 1999, to better reflect the role of the college, the name changed to the College of Health Sciences.

The College offers an undergraduate nursing program leading to the Bachelor of Science in Nursing degree as well as the Master of Science in Nursing program at the graduate level. The nursing programs are fully accredited by the CCNE and are approved by the Texas State Board of Nurse Examiners.

In 2004 the college approved a doctoral degree in Interdisciplinary Health Sciences. The Ph.D. in Interdisciplinary Health Sciences is designed to respond to the growing national shortage of doctoral-trained professionals in health-related fields and to address significant health research needs related to communities in the U.S.-Mexico border region.  This degree encompasses classes taught by faculty from the various disciplines within the College of Health Sciences.  Disciplines include Nursing, Physical Therapy, Health Promotion, Occupational Therapy, Speech-Language Pathology, Kinesiology, as well as Public Health.  Graduates from this program will have research skills, core knowledge in health sciences, and knowledge in their areas of specialization.

The College is located approximately one mile from the main UT El Paso campus, at 1101 North Campbell Street, The College of Health Sciences contains a media center which facilitates independent learning by students through the use of audio-visual programs, programmed units, and laboratory computers. A simulation laboratory provides an opportunity for students to practice skills before direct contact with patients or clients in clinical settings.

The El Paso-Ciudad Juárez international border community, with a population of more than one million, provides a wide variety of clinical experiences for both students and faculty of the College. Hospitals and other health care agencies throughout the area are utilized for student and faculty clinical practice. In addition, the El Paso City-County Health Department and a number of voluntary agencies provide patient care opportunities for learning. Agencies such as the Pan American Health Organization, the U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service, customs and consular offices on both sides of the border provide the student with unique learning experiences in the control and prevention of disease.

Description of Existing Collection
NCIP Code: 2

The major part of the collection is classified in the RT section of the Library of Congress Classification System with additional resources found across the R schedule. Cross-disciplinary material is found in other sections of the LC schedule. These are: QM (anatomy and physiology); HQ (thanatology); LB (education); and KFT (legal handbooks). The collection has been checked against the "Selected Lists: Print Nursing Books and Journals 2002" by Dorothy R. Hill and Henry N. Stickell, http://www.mssm.edu/library/brandon-hill/nursing/index.shtml.  Materials in the collection concentrate on nursing procedures and standards as well as the history of nursing.

 

A.           Nursing journals and reports of professional organizations, which are

mostly monographic in nature and catalogued as such, are part of the collection. The library subscribes to the publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing publications. Publications from the Joint Commission and the American Hospital Association are purchased as needed. 

1.   Online databases which include nursing are Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health in Literature (CINAHL), Health Reference Center Academic, PubMed, Cochrane Library, Blackwell Synergy, Academic Search Premier,  Health and Wellness Resource Center, and Science Direct.

B.           Items listed below represent some of the major areas of the discipline as found on the shelves: 

1.    Material for pre-nursing courses include anatomy and physiology,  nursing  as a profession, and microbiology and pathology. 

2.    Material on nursing activities such as communication, fundamentals of nursing, informatics, medical surgical nursing, mathematics, fluid and electrolyte balance, patient education, diagnosis, infection control, intravenous nursing, pharmacology, research, nutrition, communication, and psychosocial aspects of nursing. 

3.    Some of the specialties in the undergraduate and graduate courses include ,aids, cancer, cardiovascular, critical care, emergency, geriatric, neurologic, maternal- child, nurse anesthetists, obstetrics and gynecology, orthopedic , otolaryngologic, pediatric, perioperative, psychiatric, rehabilitation, respiratory, terminal care, transcultultural, transplantation, trauma, and urologic nursing. 

4.    Material in the undergraduate and graduate courses on nursing administration and some ancillary functions include nursing administration, ethics, research legal aspects of nursing, health marketing, economics, and managed health care. 

5.    Material on outreach activities for graduate and undergraduate work include communicable disease, community health, family nursing, health promotion, home health nursing, and long-term care. 

6.    Material for graduate studies include nursing education, midwifery, nursing theory, world health, and nurse practitioner, in addition to the above mentioned topics which are taught at the graduate level. 

7.    Additional types of material included in the Library of Congress classification schedules outside of nursing and medicine ( which are in the R schedule) include: BL cross-cultural studies, HQ thanatology and women's studies, HV social work and gerontology, KFT legal handbooks, LB education, QV drugs, and QP anatomy and physiology. 

8.    The C.L. Sonnichsen Special Collections Department of the library houses archival material about the former diploma school of nursing, the initiation of the baccalaureate nursing program in El Paso, early nursing texts in the Lois Wykoff Collection, some early medical texts, and material from the defunct Health Systems Agency. 

9.    Supplementing the printed materials are videos related to health and which are located in the Library Technology Center of the library and are accessible by title in the online catalog. 

 

C.           Historical materials are retained for historical research. Health science topics are often included in historical research by students in the social sciences as well as health science.

1.    Retain all first editions of nursing books and medical books written for nurses.

2.    Retain all publications from the National League for Nursing, American Nurses Association, American Hospital Association, and specialty organizations such as the Catholic Nurses Association and the Association of Operating Room Nurses. 

3.    Retain all conference proceedings concerning nursing and allied health. 

4.    Retain all biographical material concerning nursing, allied health and medicine. 

 

D.           Evaluation: Book lists for 55 subject areas are provided in the appendix to the 2002 "Selected Lists: Print Nursing Books and Journals 2002".  Titles for each area were matched with entries in UTEP’s online catalog in 2006.

SUBJECT AREA	# of titles on Brandon/Hill	# owned by UTEP
Administration and Managed Care	15	13
AIDS/HIV Nursing	4	4
Alternative/Complementary	3	2
Anatomy and Physiology	4	4
Cancer Nursing	10	8
Cardiovascular	8	5
Communication	7	7
Community Health	8	3
Critical Care	12	9
Dictionaries	2	2
Diet and Nutrition	6	6
Education	5	5
Emergency Nursing	8	6
Ethics	4	4
Family Nursing	5	5
Fundamentals of	10	4
Genetics	2	2
Geriatric	10	9
Health Promotion	3	2
Home Health Nursing	10	8
Infection Control	1	1
Infusion Therapy	4	4
Laboratory Diagnosis	7	6
Legal Aspects of Nursing	5	4
Long-Term Care	6	5
Maternal-Child	10	8
Medical and Surgical	14	14
Microbiology and Pathology	5	5
Neurologic	1	1
Nurse Anesthetists	3	2
Nurse Practitioner/Advanced	9	8
Nursing as a Profession	12	8
Nursing Diagnosis	15	14
Nursing Informatics	4	4
Nursing Research	9	8
Nursing Theory	7	7
Obstetric and Gynecologic	6	6
Occupational Health Nursing	2	1
Orthopedic Nursing	1	1
Patient Education	7	4
Pediatric Nursing	10	6
Perioperative Nursing	9	8
Pharmacology	11	6
Practical Nursing	18	13
Psychiatric Nursing	19	13
Psychological Aspects of Nursing	3	3
Rehabilitation Nursing	4	4
Review of Nursing	6	3
Statistics	1	1
Terminal and Palliative Care	6	5
Transcultural Nursing	6	6
Transplantation	2	2
Trauma	3	2
Urologic	2	2
Water Electrolyte Balance	6	4
	370	291

 

E.           Indices to seminal journals are accessible in the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature which the library has from 1952 (volume 1) through 1993 with the more current years available as a web-based database. Additional indices include the Hospital Literature Index (from 1955)(now Hospital and Health Administration Index (1914 to 2000)), and Nursing Studies Index, vols.1-4(1900-1959).   

F.            The library has the journal Hospital Administration back to vol. 1, 1956, which later changed titles as well as some of the hospital journals of earlier years that include material on nursing administration and leadership. The library also has the Journal of Nursing Administration back to vol. 1, 1971. Nursing Management, (formerly Supervisor Nurse, also available,) both of which are also available from the initial issue. 

G.           Many government publications, state and federal, contain primary data and policy information related to nursing administration are available in the Government Documents department of the Library, which is a selected depository collection. 

H.           Seminal works include National League for Nursing publications and American Nurses Association publications from early years as well as the ANA Clinical Conferences which contain information about nursing administration. The Annual Reports and Proceedings of the National League of Nursing Education, (from 1930-1952) which contain papers on nursing service administration. The works of some of the early nursing theorists and early authors and pioneers in nursing administration such as Finer, Geitgey, DiVincenti, Goodard, Kron, Newcomb, Mullane, Shanks, Swansburg and Stevens are also available. The classic material on hospital administration which included team work and leadership material and which were later acknowledged as nursing administration is also available. 

 

Current Collecting Intensity
NCIP Code: 2

 

The material selected supports the undergraduate program with an emphasis on curriculum needs to include fundamental or introductory nursing process, the history of nursing, more advanced nursing science and procedures in medical surgical nursing, specialized areas such as emergency and critical care nursing, neonatal and maternity nursing, pediatric nursing, geriatric nursing, community health nursing, psychological and psychiatric nursing, as well as nursing leadership and administration. Material is also selected for unique areas such as death and dying and pain management.

The graduate programs material is selected with an emphasis on nursing research, nursing scholarship, current trends in the profession, the impact of legislation on the profession, as well as new roles within the nursing profession. An effort is also made to obtain material supporting the specialized graduate programs in community health, nurse-midwifery, nurse practitioner, nursing administration, world health, and women's health care.

Current and retrospective material is sought and retained in order to satisfy nursing practice and research material for the faculty and graduate students. Most selections are English-language with some material in Spanish to address the geographic and ethnic composition needs of the El Paso community.

Desired Collection Level
NCIP Code: 3

With the introduction of the doctoral program in Interdisciplinary Health Sciences, more research-based material is needed.

The Library will need to subscribe to additional journals, purchase more extensively from recommended lists, and update texts and reference materials now owned in order to collect at the 3 level.

Locally, the Texas Tech Health Sciences Center Delia Montes-Gallo Library of the Health Sciences in El Paso supplements the University of Texas at El Paso collection with medical texts and journals not being purchased by the university. Other libraries available to the faculty and students are the El Paso Community College Rio Grande Campus, which has a nursing collection to support their Associate Degree Nursing Program, the medical library at Providence Hospital, the El Paso Public Library, the medical library of the Universidad Autonoma de Ciudad Juarez in Juarez, Chihuahua, and the libraries at New Mexico State University in Las Cruces, New Mexico, which also offers a degree in nursing.

The Interlibrary Loan Department of the library provides materials not available in the area.

The library is a charter member of the Del Norte Biosciences Library Consortium which meets regularly to dialog.

Last updated:  4/18/2006