Collection Development Policies: Political Science

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT POLICY
Subject: POLITICAL SCIENCE

Program Description 

The political science major may choose to minor in political science or study towards a BA or an MA degree. Concentrations include: American Political Processes; Public Law; Comparative and International Politics; and Political Theory. Distribution requirements mean majors must take upper division courses in at least three of the foregoing areas. Teacher certification and a minor are also available, and students choose from 40 undergraduate and 41 graduate courses to meet degree requirements. The minor has three options: general political science; focus on comparative and international politics; focus on public administration. POLS3210 and POLS3211 are required of the major before taking upper division courses.  POLS3212 is required of majors and minors general political science option) before taking more than six upper division units of work in political science.

Description of Existing Collection
NCIP Code: 2b  

The political science collection is classified in the Library of Congress classification and includes resources on political science (J), general law (K), and United States law (KF). The journal collection includes 127 currently received titles that are directly applicable to political science. Social Science Abstracts, Social Science Index, and PAIS are all available for reference searches. Congressional Universe, Academic Universe, PAIS, Public Agenda Online and Social Science Index are available as electronic databases for searching by faculty and students. Periodical Abstracts, another electronic database includes some full text articles in political science journals. In addition, political science journals are available in full text on Kluwer and Project Muse. 

The Reference and Document collections contain materials from government agencies important to political science and research. Current statistical references are available for work in government, law, and administration.

The monograph collection contains current and major retrospective works in the field. In addition to law the collection includes titles in business, organization, multicultural environments, and statistics which support the political science program.

Current Collecting Intensity
NCIP Code: 2b

The current collection supports political science courses, the pre-law program and independent research. Titles in comparative politics, political theory, administration and organization are received on the approval plans.

Interest is on domestic and international political theory, politicians, political organizations and public administration. The collection also includes materials in the field of political science as it relates to the U.S. - Mexico border region and political groups such as Chicanos, Latinos, and women.

Last updated: 4-13-0503/20/03