Collection Development Policies: African-American Studies

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT POLICY
Subject: AFRICAN AMERICAN STUDIES

Program Description

The African American Studies Program provides a humanistic lens and course of study for individuals of all backgrounds to examine the African American experience and the attendant complexities of "race" relations in the American southwest, the state of Texas, the nation, and the Diaspora.  The program's curriculum centers on the African American experience as it relates primarily to past, present, and future issues of (1) economic and business development; (2) leadership and service; (3) changing family structures and values; (4)  gender politics; (5)  the rapidly changing world of science and technology; and the importance of these issues in the local and global consciousness and behavior of African Americans and others of African descent.  Students explore these issues using the interdisciplinary approach, comparative methodology, and computer literacy to acquire the critical thinking skills and knowledge for leadership, involvement in community development, preparation for graduate school, and to meet the personal and professional challenges of the 21st century.

Description of Existing Collection
NCIP Code: 1a

Their is no specific LC concentration. Systematic collection development of Library materials continues. The literature and research produced by African American scholars from the 19th Century - to date are the focus of the collection. English language predominates in the collection with very few exceptions. A total of 17 journals are specifically designated as African American periodicals. Four subscriptions are currently maintained.

Access to materials using hardcopy and electronic resources is available. The main access point for UTEP Library monographs is the OPAC. Marcive records added to the catalog allow for searching of government publications. All journal titles are listed in the OPAC. Major topical indexes such as Historical Abstracts and America: History and Life are available. In addition, all students have access to the Internet and World Wide Web, allowing the use of bibliographic and textual resources available nationally and worldwide. The Library's ILL services provide materials (monographs & periodical articles) for a small service charge from around the country.

Current Collection Intensity
NCIP Code: 1

Materials are being collected for all courses currently being offered. Reference materials which are being acquired continue to be encyclopedias and dictionaries focusing on African American history, culture and biography.

Desired Collection Level
NCIP Code: 2

African American Studies is a recently initiated program at the University; courses of study and the relevant collection development of Library materials is still in development. At a minimum this program will require a level of basic, up-to-date information coverage in all areas of African American history and culture.

Last updated: March 20, 2003