Collection Development Policies: Information and Decision Sciences

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT POLICY
Subject: INFORMATION AND DECISION SCIENCES

Program Description

The department of Information and Decision Science (IDS), located in the College of Business Administration, offers the following degree: Bachelor of Business Administration (B.B.A.) with an emphasis in Computer Information Systems (CIS). IDS also participates in the Masters of Business Administration, the Masters of Accountancy, and the Master of Science in Economics.

Description of Existing Collection

The collection is concentrated in the call numbers HD9696 and QA75-76.95 but is not limited to these call numbers. The IDS collection is interdisciplinary in nature and shares resources with Computer Science, Engineering, and sections of Mathematics. Because of the subjects it covers the collection is, by definition, current. There are some areas such as Management Information Systems which contain some older material.

The material is located on the fourth and fifth floor of the Library in the Main collection. IDS is also well represented in the Reference department. There are a couple of sets published by Datapro that deal with managing systems and systems technology. The library subscribes to journals in IDS. To facilitate research in the journals, numerous print and electronic sources are available. The library subscribes to Business Source Complete, a general business database. UTEP also subscribes to INSPEC and numberous other business and computer databases. Students also have access to the World Wide Web.

Current Collecting Intensity

Current collecting practices reflect the attempt to provide for the needs of the undergraduate and graduate students in IDS, as well as the needs of the faculty. Monographs are acquired by both firm orders and through the approval plan, Yankee Book Pedler. Monographs and serials are predominately in English, however, every effort is taken to collect current materials in Spanish.

Other Resources

Computer Applications Learning Center (CALC) Lab located in the College of Business Administration houses personal computers and software that assist IDS students in their studies. The computers are also able to access a variety of the Library’s databases.

Last updated: 3/20/03