Skip to main content

Sociology/Anthropology/Human Geography: Collection Development Policy

List of basic and recommended resources for the subject area

Collection Development Policy

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT POLICY
Subject: SOCIOLOGY / ANTHROPOLOGY / HUMAN GEOGRAPHY

Degrees offered:

BA in Sociology or Anthropology, minor in Anthropology or Sociology, Teacher Certification in Sociology, Certificate in Applied Anthropology, Certificate in Cultural Heritage Management, MA in Sociology

Number of faculty:

14 (13.2 FTE)*

Number of majors in the program:

Undergraduate 110*
Graduate 16*

Faculty Liaison:

Cristina Morales

Library Subject Specialist:

Claudia Rivers

Department Chair:

Josiah Heyman

* Fall, 2009 data as reported in The University of Texas at El Paso Interactive FACT BOOK, 2009-10, http://cierpdata.utep.edu/OnlineFactBook/Home.aspx

Program Description:

Summary of requirements for majors and minors: 

For undergraduate students, a major in Sociology requires 30 semester hours in sociology, of which 21 must be advanced level. A major in Anthropology requires 30 semester hours in anthropology, of which 18 must be advanced level. A minor in Sociology requires 18 semester hour in sociology, of which 9 must be advanced level. For a minor in Anthropology, students need 18 semester hours in anthropology, of which at least 9 must be advanced level.

Teacher certification in Sociology: 36 semester hours in sociology, including certain required courses.

Certificate in Applied Anthropology:  Major or minor in anthropology, including four specific courses.

Certificate in Cultural Heritage Management:  Major or minor in anthropology, including three specific courses.

For a Master of Arts degree in Sociology: 24 hours of coursework in sociology and 6 hours of thesis coursework. Of these classes, four courses are required.  In addition, the student must complete a thesis.  

For sociology, 39 undergraduate courses are listed; for anthropology, 40 courses are listed; 20 courses overlap and may count for either anthropology or sociology.

In sociology, there are 13 exclusively graduate courses listed, making the total Sociology courses offered 62.

Areas of emphasis or specialization in sociology and anthropology are similar. These include: U.S.-Mexico Border Region; Mexican Americans; Southwest and Mexico; Native Americans of the American Southwest and Mexico; Criminology and deviance; Sex and Gender; Demography; Archeology.  As part of a campus-wide initiative, immigration is also an area of interest.

Future: A Master of Arts degree in Anthropology is planned, but no date has been set for implementation.  An inter-disciplinary Master of Arts in Latin American Studies is also planned, which would incorporate topics in anthropology and sociology.

Description of Existing Collection:
NCIP* Code: 2 (Basic introductory); 3 (Instructional) in materials on Southwest and U.S.-Mexico border.

Works specifically about the discipline of sociology are classified in the HM schedule of Library of Congress system; those about anthropology as a discipline, particularly cultural anthropology, are classified in the GN area. However, works on anthropological and social topics may be found in many other classifications. For example, related materials are found in LC call numbers CC, E51 - E78, E98 - E99, GF, GR, and P40 - P41.

The library has 6694 titles with subject headings or other fields including the terms "anthropology" or "sociology". However, since many subjects in these fields do not include those terms, there are many books not included in that figure.  Much of sociological and anthropological literature may be found under such headings as "Mexico--Social conditions" or "Ethnic relations" or "social structure" or even the very broad "Man".

The library has approximately 40 currently received serial titles that deal with anthropology or sociology. Approximately 85 serials were previously received, but have been either discontinued or cancelled. Several titles have only short runs. There were wholesale cancellations in 1993 of anthropology and sociology serials.

The collection is predominantly in English, with Spanish as a second significant language for materials on Latin America. Some other major European languages are also represented, but in isolated instances.

Current Collecting Intensity: 
NCIP* Code: 2 (Basic Introductory); 3 (Instructional) for areas of emphasis
 

The library collects at the instructional level 3 in areas where the department has areas of emphasis, namely the U.S.-Mexico border region, Mexican Americans, the American Southwest and Mexico, Native Americans of the American Southwest and Mexico, criminology and deviance, sex and gender, demography, and archeology.

In other areas of anthropology or sociology, the library collects at level 2 (basic), including sociolinguistics, physical anthropology, medical sociology & anthropology, educational anthropology, Asian and African ethnology, and Latin American ethnology or archaeology.

Generally out-of-scope topics are: religion, social and religious movements; sports; war and peace.

Language note: English and Spanish works should be acquired.

Desired Collection Level:
NCIP* Code 3A (instructional); 3B (advanced instructional) for areas of emphasis
 

Because of the proposed master’s in anthropology, and the research center for archaeology, more journals, reference materials, and works on theory should be acquired.  

Other Resources: 

The Government Documents, Special Collections, and microforms areas currently contain materials not yet on-line that have relevance to the areas of anthropology and sociology.

*North American Collections Inventory Project, a document developed by the Research Group Libraries and the Association of Research Library’s Office of Management Services

 

Subject Guide

Claudia Rivers's picture
Claudia Rivers
Contact:
Library, Sixth Floor
915/747-6725

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |