Skip to main content

Sociology/Anthropology/Human Geography: Databases

List of basic and recommended resources for the subject area

Recommended databases for Anthropology and Sociology

Other databases may also be relevant to your research.  See all Library databases here.

Subject Guide

Claudia Rivers's picture
Claudia Rivers
Contact:
Library, Sixth Floor
915/747-6725

Other Databases for Human Rights Research

Hemeroteca Digital de Chihuahua (INPRO)

Provides full-text access to selected Spanish language articles derived from Mexican newspapers and magazines covering the state of Chihuahua, Mexico. Includes selected articles from newspapers and periodicals from other Mexican states as well as from the El Paso, Texas area. Coverage: 1976 - present (updated daily).

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest)

Bibliographic index for international literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, public administration, and public policy. Publications indexed include journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations. Citations include abstracts and some include links to full-text based on institutional subscriptions. Coverage: 1975 - present (updated monthly).

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDT Global) (ProQuest)

Provides bibliographic indexing for nearly all doctoral dissertations and Master's theses accepted at North American academic institutions. Selectively indexes dissertations and theses from academic institutions in Great Britain, Europe, and other countries around the globe. Dissertations published since July 1980 include abstracts written by the author. Theses published since 1988 include brief abstracts. All titles published since 1997 include 24-page previews and complete full-text; selected full-text is available for earlier dates. Many titles can also be ordered online using a personal credit card. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary. Coverage: 1637 - present (overall); bulk from 1861 - present. Updated monthly. NOTE: Includes all of UTEP's Master's theses and doctoral dissertations in online format as found in Dissertations & Theses @ University of Texas - El Paso (ProQuest). To locate printed or microfilm copies of theses and dissertations for UTEP, check Nugget, the UTEP Library Catalog.

Palmer's Full Text Online (ProQuest)

Provides bibliographic indexing as well as full-text/full-image access to The Times newspaper of London, England. Resources include: Palmer's Index to the Times (October 1790-December 1905) and Palmer's Full Text Online (1800-1870). Subject coverage includes all aspects of British life and world affairs in the 19th and 20th centuries including history, politics, economics, business, the arts, entertainment, and sport.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times (ProQuest)

Provides full-text/full-image access to the Los Angeles Times newspaper from the first issue published in 1881 up through 25 years from the current date. Content includes news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photographs, cartoons, maps, advertisements, and more. Updated annually. For online access to current issues of the Los Angeles Times, see LexisNexis Academic. To locate printed or microfilm copies of the Los Angeles Times, check Nugget, the UTEP Library Catalog.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (ProQuest)

Provides full-text/full-image access to The New York Times newspaper from the first issue published in 1851 up through three years from the current date. Content includes news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photographs, cartoons, maps, advertisements, and more. Updated annually. For online access to current issues of The New York Times, see LexisNexis Academic. To locate printed or microfilm copies of The New York Times, check Nugget, the UTEP Library Catalog.

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |