Skip to main content

National History Day: Databases

Help in research for National History Day projects and links to the National History Day website.

Recommended Databases

Here you will find lists of recommended databases.  On the left are databases we recommend for Local topics.  On the right are general and history databases for all topics.  Please review the description to choose a database that suits your topic.  If you aren't sure, ask a librarian!

Local Topic Databases - El Paso Topics

Newspapers

To view all Newspaper databases click here. The following databases may provide a good starting point.

History Databases

To view all History databases click here.  The following databases may provide a good starting point.

NoodleTools

Database Descriptions

General Databases

 Gale Virtual Reference Library

A good place to start. This is a collection of subject-specific encyclopedias. Look up your topic and look for an “overview” article. This will help you put your topic in historical context and get the key dates, names, and ideas related to your topic. These will help you refine your focus and expand your search vocabulary.

Academic Search Complete

A general database of magazine and journal articles that covers all topics. Limit your search to Full Text in the left column.

America: History and Life

Magazine and journal articles that focus on American history. Limit your search to Full Text in the left column.

Current Biography Illustrated

Biographical essays on people from 1940 - present

JSTOR

Scholarly journal articles. Enter a very specific search. For example, in the first search box, enter the term Marco Polo; in the second box, enter the term Persia.  Unclick the two boxes that say “Include only content I can access” and “Include links to external content”.   Under Narrow by, select Articles.  Now select disciplines under Journal filter, such as Asian Studies and History.

Primary Sources

Academic Search Complete

Includes Vital Speeches International and Vital Speeches of the Day; speeches are primary sources. Enter your topic in the first search box and “speeches, addresses, etc.” in the second search box. Limit your search to Full Text in the left column.

Access Newspaper Archives

Selected articles from American newspapers from 1759 – present. It includes some years of the El Paso Herald-Post, El Paso Times, and UTEP Prospector.

African-American Newspapers

Newspapers from 1827-1998

Chronicling America

Selected newspapers from 1836-1922

Declassified Documents Reference System

Selected government documents (FBI, CIA, State Department, President’s office) from 1945-1979

Early American Newspapers - Selected newspapers from 1690-1876

Hemeroteca Digital de Chihuahua

Chihuahua and U.S.-Mexico border publications from 1976- present

Newspaper Archive of The Prospector

UTEP’s Prospector from 1915-2010

ProQuest Congressional Publications (U.S. Serial Set and Serial Set Maps)

The proceedings of the U.S. Congress from 1789-1969. We have later volumes in paper.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Los Angeles Times – From 1881-1990

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times – From 1851-2010

Texas Historical Newspaper Archives

Selected newspaper articles from 1813-1922

Women & Social Movements in the U.S. – Documents 1600-2000

Women & Social Movements International – Documents 1840-present

 

Specific Topics: Ask a Librarian if Your Area is Not Listed

 

ArtStor

Images of art works and architecture from ancient to modern times

Art Full Text

Journal articles about art

Business Source Complete

Journal articles about business

Contemporary Women’s Issues

Materials from 1992 - present

Education Full Text

Journal articles about education

Film & Television Literature Index

Journal articles about movies & TV

PAIS International

Various types of documents on political, economic, and public policy issues. Includes some full text and some primary source material.

RILM

Various types of materials, including scholarly journals, on music. Limit your search to Full Text in the left column.

Science and Technology Collection (Ebsco)

Magazine and journal articles about science and technology

SPORTDiscus

Magazine and journal articles on sports, physical therapy, etc.

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |