Skip to main content

National History Day: Need Help?

Help in research for National History Day projects and links to the National History Day website.

Welcome to the Help Page!

This page is dedicated to those students who work on their own on a National History Day entry.  Schools normally plan to bring classes here to receive instruction on how the databases work, they have books pulled for them and instruction on how to come back for more research on their own.  Perhaps you are one student at your particular school, who would like to participate in El Paso's History Day and National History Day.  This page will help you visit the UTEP Library and find resources for your entry.

If you have questions on things like, but not limited to:

  • What is a primary resources?

  • What is a bibliography?

  • What is a secondary resource?

  • What is a journal article?

  • Where can I get help while I'm inside the UTEP Library looking for books or help with my research?

Don't hesitate to Contact us!  We are here to support you!

Visiting the UTEP Library On Your Own

The UTEP Library supports the History Department and the El Paso educational community by offering information literacy instruction to middle school and high school students participating in National History Day competitions. These guidelines will help the library staff serve these students effectively.

The librarians at the Reference Desk can help you find more materials in the library catalog.  There are four computers on the first floor in Media and Microforms, where you can search the catalog and one computer per floor on the 1st and the 3rd to 5th to search the catalog without a UTEP login.

Search the Library with MinerQuest

Find Books in the UTEP Library

Going to a shelf and finding a book is simple with the call number and location.  The trick is searching for the right book on your topic in the online catalog, Nugget or Encore.  This video will help explain how it works, so you can find a book on your own.  If you still need assistance, we can help you or you can visit our many librarians at Reference Desk.  We can help you with the subject terms for your topic to find the right materials.  Come on in and find a book!

How to Find a Good Database

There are several databases that cover various subjects.  We have some that are very general, like Academic Search Complete and some very specific, like ARTstor, which is a digital image database.

Some top choices to start with are:

  • Academic Search Complete - General Subjects
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library - General Subjects
  • Newspaper Databases are a good source too.

Special Collections

Materials located in Special Collections on the 6th floor can be viewed, but not checked out.  If you find any material you would like to see under Special Collections, please visit them.

Evaluate Internet Sources

For More Help...

If you need assistance, don't hesitate to contact us directly or seek help at the Reference Desk.

Subject Guide

Joy Urbina's picture
Joy Urbina
Contact:
University Library
Reference
jurbina4@utep.edu
915-747-5066
Social:YouTube Page
Subjects:Theatre Arts

NoodleTools

TexShare Card

A TexShare Card provides you with borrowing privileges from more than 500 participating libraries across the state.The UTEP  library, EPCC libraries and El Paso Public Library honor the TexShare card. Click here to find another library part of TexShare Card program.

All you need to do is ask for a TexShare card from your affilitated library, fill up a form (which takes 3 minutes),  and you will be given  your TexShare card.

If you are are a UTEP student ask for a TexShare Card at the Circulation Desk. If you are an EPCC student ask for it in any EPCC library. If you are a community user ask for one in El Paso Public Libray.

                                                     

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |