UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT EL PASO LIBRARY
C.L. SONNICHSEN SPECIAL COLLECTIONS DEPARTMENT
Primary source materials for the history of the borderlands
Examples include Stephenson-Flores family papers, John J. Middagh papers, Mario T. Garcia papers, Joseph F. Friedkin papers, Fanny Zlabovsky National Council of Jewish Women case files, Allen Falby papers, Chris P. Fox papers, R. E. Thomason papers, Maude Isaacks papers, Kohlberg family papers, etc.
National Catholic Welfare Conference (Border Office), El Paso Graduate Nurses' Association, El Paso Chamber of Commerce Women's Section, Planned Parenthood of El Paso, etc.
Zork Hardware, The Popular Dry Goods, Horace B. Stevens papers, O.H. Thorman Architectural records, Milpillas Hacienda Records, Chisos Mining Company records, etc.
Gertrude Fitzgerald photographs, Mexican Revolution photograph collection, Leona Washington photograph collection, Manuel Carrillo collection, El Paso Times negatives, El Paso Herald-Post photo files, Casasola Studio photos, Aultman photographs, etc.
El Paso city directories, 1889-
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps, Southern Pacific RR maps, city plats, other blue line maps, and assorted historical maps of
Over 900 oral history interviews; some are online at http://digitalcommons.utep.edu/interviews/
El Paso County Records (Deed books, sheriffs' minute books, probate files, etc.), Rio Grande Compact records, Texas Eighth District Court of Appeals.
Mexican state, municipal, or judicial records and archives:
Cd. Juarez, Chihuahua, Janos, Carrizal, Parral, Archivo Justicial de Parral, Chih., Archivo Justicial de Guerrero, Chih.
Periódico Oficial de Chihuahua (under several titles)
Church records (most are on microfilm):
Prospector, El Paso Times, El Paso Herald-Post, Periódico Oficial de Chihuahua, samples and short runs of various local and regional newspapers. The database Newspaperarchive.Com has some full-text El Paso newspapers from the 20th century.
Special Collections Librarians: Claudia Rivers, 747-6725, email email@example.com
Laura Hollingsed, 747-6726, email firstname.lastname@example.org
Main Desk: 747-5697
1. From the Library Home Page (http://libraryweb.utep.edu/) do a quick search using Encore, the new library interface. Type a keyword into the box near the top of the page. _________________
2. Find a book about your subject and complete the following:
Call # _______________________________________
Click on the title for fuller information about the book. Fill out the following from the record:
Place of publication (city): ____________________________
Publisher (company): ________________________________
Year of publication: __________________________________
Now click on the link under the search box at the top of the page that says “Classic Nugget” and try the search again. Is the information about the title you found easier to understand?
Yes * No * About the same *
1. From the library home page (http://libraryweb.utep.edu/), click on the link under “Online Resources” for “Databases”.
Select the letter A from the alphabetical listings, and then connect to Academic Search Complete.
Type a subject of your choice in the “Find” box. For example:
Border in default field
AND maquila in default field
After selecting an article, complete the following information:
Author (if listed): _____________________________________
Title of Article: _______________________________________
Title of periodical/journal: ___________________________________
Volume number: ___________________________________________
Page number: _____________________________________________
Date of publication: ________________________________________
Subject Term (just one): ____________
2. Repeat the search, checking the options “Full text” and “Scholarly”.