UTEP Library Research Guides - Browse By Librarian
Browse guides alphabetically, by subject, or by librarian


  Search: 
 
Jump To:  
1301 Teaching and Learning
by Les Arms - Last Updated Jan 29, 2013
Astronomy
by Les Arms - Last Updated Oct 19, 2012
Biology
by Les Arms, Robert Klapthor - Last Updated Sep 27, 2012
An introduction to the available resources for research and study in biology.
Chemistry
by Les Arms, Robert Klapthor - Last Updated Sep 28, 2012
chemistry ; materials science; biochemistry
COMM 1301
by Les Arms - Last Updated Mar 13, 2013
Computer Science
by Les Arms - Last Updated May 29, 2012
Endangered Animals
by Les Arms - Last Updated Jul 26, 2012
Environmental Sciences
by Les Arms, Robert Klapthor - Last Updated Oct 1, 2012
Foundations of Engingeering UNIV 1301
by Les Arms - Last Updated Jan 29, 2013
Genetically Modified Foods
by Les Arms - Last Updated Jul 5, 2012
Information and Resources on Genetically Modified Foods
Geological Sciences
by Les Arms, Robert Klapthor - Last Updated Oct 2, 2012
Global Warming: Science and Politics
by Les Arms - Last Updated Jan 7, 2013
History of Mathematics
by Les Arms - Last Updated May 1, 2013
Mathematics
by Les Arms, Robert Klapthor - Last Updated Oct 2, 2012
Physics
by Les Arms - Last Updated Jul 26, 2012
A guide to UTEP's Physics resources.
SAGE Research Methods
by Les Arms - Last Updated Feb 26, 2013
Science is Not Just For Geeks
by Les Arms - Last Updated Jan 29, 2013
UNIV 1301 11569/15733
Science Resources
by Les Arms - Last Updated Jul 6, 2012
Resources for subjects within the sciences
Zotero
by Les Arms - Last Updated Feb 27, 2013
Communications
by Lisa Borden - Last Updated Jul 3, 2012
A guide to resource at the UTEP Library
Copyright and Intellectual Property
by Lisa Borden - Last Updated May 23, 2013
This guide serves as an introduction to copyright resources and best practices. It is not meant as legal advice.
ENGL 1611: Written and Oral Communication (Fall 2011)
by Lisa Borden - Last Updated Jul 5, 2012
Both online and print resources available through the University Library for ENGL 1611.
Film Studies
by Lisa Borden - Last Updated Oct 24, 2012
A guide to resources in Film Studies at UTEP
Library Collection Development Procedures
by Lisa Borden, Nancy Hill, Kathy Poorman - Last Updated Aug 21, 2012
Policies, guidelines, and forms for subject specialists doing collection development
PAD 5361: Political Economy of Borders
by Lisa Borden - Last Updated Jul 6, 2012
An introduction to the field of international border economics with a special emphasis on topics dealing with the border zone between Mexico and the United States examining the role of public policy on economic issues of the border.
Streaming Video
by Lisa Borden, Harvey Castellano - Last Updated May 23, 2013
Breakthrough Tutorials
by Harvey Castellano - Last Updated Feb 22, 2013
This Research Guide provides links to online resources and tutorials covering the entire research process.
Dance Studies
by Harvey Castellano - Last Updated Sep 25, 2012
A guide to research in Dance Studies
ENGL 1311 - Gilden (Peace and Middle East)
by Harvey Castellano - Last Updated Mar 7, 2011
Guide to resources about peace activists and middle east crisis
Faculty Resources and Services
by Harvey Castellano - Last Updated May 23, 2013
Information on how the library resources can support faculty with curriculum, research and retention/tenure/promotion.
Genealogy: Tools and Resources for Recovering the Past
by Harvey Castellano - Last Updated Jul 5, 2012
This guide will assist students in locating genealogical information from both print and online sources.
Graduate Student Library Resources
by Harvey Castellano - Last Updated May 23, 2013
Grants and Funding
by Harvey Castellano - Last Updated Oct 17, 2012
Information Literacy
by Harvey Castellano - Last Updated Feb 19, 2013
Miner Guides
by Harvey Castellano, Miner Guides - Last Updated Apr 25, 2013
Lighting Your Way
Streaming Video
by Lisa Borden, Harvey Castellano - Last Updated May 23, 2013
Surveys in the library
by Harvey Castellano - Last Updated Apr 19, 2013
Various surveys conducted from time to time
Theatre Arts
by Harvey Castellano - Last Updated Sep 23, 2011
A guide to resources in theatre arts
UNIV 1301 Eyewitness to History
by Harvey Castellano - Last Updated Jan 16, 2013
William Shakespeare
by Harvey Castellano - Last Updated Jan 15, 2013
Guide to finding resources for William Shakespeare's works and criticism.
Dewey Decimal Classification System
by Sebastian Diaz - Last Updated Aug 1, 2011
Education Helpful Websites (National and state of Texas)
by Sebastian Diaz - Last Updated Mar 5, 2012
Helpful sites for researchers, teachers, and students
Educational Leadership EDAD 5345
by Sebastian Diaz, Nancy Hill - Last Updated Aug 27, 2010
Readings for Dr. Braham's class
Finding Dissertations and Theses
by Sebastian Diaz - Last Updated Jan 24, 2012
Journal Acceptance/Rejection Rates
by Sebastian Diaz - Last Updated Feb 24, 2010
Library Student Portfolio
by Sebastian Diaz - Last Updated Apr 20, 2010
RefWorks
by Sebastian Diaz, Elizabeth Torres - Last Updated Mar 29, 2013
The Dewey Decimal Rap
by Sebastian Diaz - Last Updated Aug 3, 2009
Business
by Lilia Fernandez - Last Updated May 15, 2013
Subject and course specific research guides that provide listings of databases, internet websites, and print resources on a variety of business topics.
Government Documents
by Charles Gaunce - Last Updated Jul 5, 2012
how to find a government document
Law
by Charles Gaunce - Last Updated Jul 5, 2012
EndNote Web
by Miner Guides, Elizabeth Torres - Last Updated Mar 26, 2013
Miner Guides
by Harvey Castellano, Miner Guides - Last Updated Apr 25, 2013
Lighting Your Way
Newspapers
by Miner Guides, Elizabeth Torres - Last Updated Feb 11, 2013
ISS
by khendum Gyabak - Last Updated Sep 9, 2010
ISS guide to developing and teaching courses online
Ancient Egypt and Mesopotamia
by Nancy Hill - Last Updated Sep 10, 2010
Tips on methods and sources for research on ancient Egypt and Mesopotamia.
Ancient Greece
by Nancy Hill - Last Updated Sep 7, 2010
Tips on doing research for topics on Ancient Greece.
Assignment Reports for Portfolios
by Nancy Hill - Last Updated Apr 13, 2010
Samples of library student employee assignments.
Chicago Citation Style
by Nancy Hill - Last Updated Dec 18, 2009
Basic information and examples for creating footnotes and a bibliography in Chicago style.
Children's Literature
by Nancy Hill - Last Updated Aug 30, 2012
Finding books for children and critical works on children's literature.
Drugs in the Modern World
by Nancy Hill - Last Updated Apr 11, 2013
Educational Leadership EDAD 5345
by Sebastian Diaz, Nancy Hill - Last Updated Aug 27, 2010
Readings for Dr. Braham's class
English & American Literature Research
by Nancy Hill - Last Updated Aug 30, 2012
Helps you find books, scholarly articles, and other materials for your research in English or American Literature.
English & American Literature Selection Policy
by Nancy Hill - Last Updated Mar 16, 2010
Explains policies for the collection of library materials in English and American literature.
English Teaching
by Nancy Hill - Last Updated Sep 28, 2012
Tips on sources for English education.
History Paper Guide
by Nancy Hill - Last Updated Jan 31, 2012
Tips on how to structure and research a history paper.
L'Année Philologique
by Nancy Hill - Last Updated Feb 8, 2010
How to search this wonderful (but slightly tricky) database.
Library Cataloging Student Training
by Nancy Hill - Last Updated Jul 20, 2010
Instruction sheets for cataloging student employees.
Library Collection Development Procedures
by Lisa Borden, Nancy Hill, Kathy Poorman - Last Updated Aug 21, 2012
Policies, guidelines, and forms for subject specialists doing collection development
Library Professional Collection
by Nancy Hill, Kathy Poorman - Last Updated Mar 30, 2010
Links to Librarian resources for collection development and Cataloging and Special Collections links
MLA Style Bibliography and Footnotes
by Nancy Hill - Last Updated Sep 29, 2009
Tips and examples on how to do MLA style citations, footnotes, and bibliography.
Music Collection Development Policy
by Nancy Hill - Last Updated Mar 24, 2010
Music Research
by Nancy Hill - Last Updated Sep 10, 2010
Guide to finding books, scholarly articles, and other materials for research in music.
National History Day
by Nancy Hill, Sol Maria Lopez - Last Updated Mar 12, 2013
How to do a National History Day project; links to NHD site
Native American History
by Nancy Hill - Last Updated Jul 5, 2012
Rhetoric and Writing
by Nancy Hill, Jason W. Moore, Joy Urbina - Last Updated Nov 11, 2011
Short cuts and research tips for Rhetoric and Writing students
Science Fiction and Star Trek Research
by Nancy Hill - Last Updated Jan 14, 2013
Tips on finding science fiction books and stories, as well as books and scholarly articles about science fiction and Star Trek.
Teacher Education 4350 (Reyes)
by Nancy Hill - Last Updated Jun 4, 2010
Online readings for TED 4350
Jewish Studies
by Laura Hollingsed - Last Updated Jul 5, 2012
History
by Luke Jastrzebski - Last Updated Jul 5, 2012
Biology
by Les Arms, Robert Klapthor - Last Updated Sep 27, 2012
An introduction to the available resources for research and study in biology.
Chemistry
by Les Arms, Robert Klapthor - Last Updated Sep 28, 2012
chemistry ; materials science; biochemistry
Environmental Sciences
by Les Arms, Robert Klapthor - Last Updated Oct 1, 2012
Geological Sciences
by Les Arms, Robert Klapthor - Last Updated Oct 2, 2012
Journal Citation Reports - The Impact Factor and Other Metrics
by Robert Klapthor - Last Updated Aug 17, 2012
A brief introduction to using JCR for locating and interpreting the impact factor for journals. Included is the Eigenfactor metrics and other aggregate impact factors.
Mathematics
by Les Arms, Robert Klapthor - Last Updated Oct 2, 2012
National History Day
by Nancy Hill, Sol Maria Lopez - Last Updated Mar 12, 2013
How to do a National History Day project; links to NHD site
Psychology
by Sol Maria Lopez - Last Updated Feb 22, 2013
Resource Description and Access (RDA)
by Sol Maria Lopez - Last Updated Mar 29, 2013
This guide is created specifically for the library's Technical Services department and other interested library staff members.
Create or Recover Your Library PIN
by Angela Lucero - Last Updated Oct 18, 2011
English 1311 & 1312 Research
by Angela Lucero, Elizabeth Torres - Last Updated Mar 15, 2013
A how-to guide to resources most useful for conducting research for English 1312
How Do I ...
by Angela Lucero, Elizabeth Torres - Last Updated May 20, 2013
INSS 5306- Contemporary Security Studies
by Angela Lucero - Last Updated Jun 15, 2012
Contains a reading list for Dr. Armin Krishnan's Summer 2012 class, as well as relevant resources to help with research for the class.
Intelligence and National Security Studies
by Angela Lucero - Last Updated Feb 19, 2013
Resources to help students and researchers discover outstanding resources related to the scholarly study of the the fields of Intelligence and National Security.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
by Angela Lucero - Last Updated Apr 16, 2013
Mango Languages
by Angela Lucero - Last Updated Mar 13, 2013
Information and step-by-step on the Mango Languages database.
Political Science
by Angela Lucero - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
A guide to some of the most useful resources available for the study of Political Science.
Preparing for Graduate School
by Angela Lucero - Last Updated Mar 13, 2012
Presidential Election 2012
by Angela Lucero - Last Updated Jun 13, 2012
Public Administration
by Angela Lucero - Last Updated Feb 21, 2013
A guide to some of the most useful resources for the study of Public Administration available to UTEP students and faculty.
RefWorks 2.0
by Angela Lucero - Last Updated Oct 16, 2012
A guide to opening an account, and getting the most use out of RefWorks.
SPLP 5377
by Angela Lucero - Last Updated Jun 15, 2012
Students in the Military
by Angela Lucero - Last Updated May 9, 2012
UNIV 1301- Health for All
by Angela Lucero - Last Updated Oct 15, 2012
UNIV 1301- Protests of the 1960s
by Angela Lucero - Last Updated Oct 15, 2012
UNIV 1301- The Human Condition
by Angela Lucero - Last Updated Oct 15, 2012
Upward Bound- History
by Angela Lucero, Elizabeth Torres - Last Updated Jun 12, 2012
WS 3390- Plagues, Pandemics & Power
by Angela Lucero - Last Updated Oct 24, 2012
Cited Reference Searching
by Jane McGuigan - Last Updated May 22, 2013
Database Tutorials
by Jane McGuigan - Last Updated Oct 24, 2012
Database tutorials from the vendors' websites.
Earth Week 2012
by Jane McGuigan - Last Updated Jan 8, 2013
Resources and ideas for celebrating Earth Day throughout the year and with the community.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
by Jane McGuigan - Last Updated Feb 12, 2013
Each volume in the Opposing Viewpoints series addresses a controversial social or political issue from opposing viewpoints.
Statistical Sources
by Jane McGuigan - Last Updated May 22, 2013
The guide provides help in locating statistical resources within different subject areas.
Study Abroad
by Jane McGuigan - Last Updated Jan 3, 2012
Many of the information resources you relied on at the University Library at UTEP are available when you are conducting research and studying abroad.
Electronic Resources Information
by Jason W. Moore - Last Updated Sep 6, 2012
Facebook Featured Browsing Titles
by Jason W. Moore - Last Updated Aug 30, 2010
Mobile Access to UTEP E-Resources
by Jason W. Moore - Last Updated Oct 6, 2010
Rhetoric and Writing
by Nancy Hill, Jason W. Moore, Joy Urbina - Last Updated Nov 11, 2011
Short cuts and research tips for Rhetoric and Writing students
Web 2.0 and Library 2.0
by Jason W. Moore - Last Updated Nov 13, 2009
This guide is dedicated to information concerning web 2.0 and it's application in the library setting.
Early American Newspapers
by John Padilla - Last Updated Mar 6, 2012
Jazz
by John Padilla - Last Updated Jan 17, 2013
Newspapers on Microfilm
by John Padilla - Last Updated Jan 18, 2013
Library Collection Development Procedures
by Lisa Borden, Nancy Hill, Kathy Poorman - Last Updated Aug 21, 2012
Policies, guidelines, and forms for subject specialists doing collection development
Library Professional Collection
by Nancy Hill, Kathy Poorman - Last Updated Mar 30, 2010
Links to Librarian resources for collection development and Cataloging and Special Collections links
Ethics
by Virginia Rassaei - Last Updated Apr 15, 2013
The objective of this site is to provide fast and effective access to the different resources available for you in support of the study and research of ethics
Language and Linguistics
by Virginia Rassaei - Last Updated May 16, 2013
A guide to Resources in Language and Linguistics
Philosophy Research Guide
by Virginia Rassaei - Last Updated Apr 15, 2013
Selected resources available at UTEP library to help you with your research.
Religious Studies Research Guide
by Virginia Rassaei - Last Updated Apr 15, 2013
1301 Topics
by Claudia Rivers - Last Updated Oct 5, 2012
Borderlands History
by Claudia Rivers - Last Updated Sep 19, 2011
Gives a few examples of primary sources for Borderlands history in the UTEP Library
Civil War history
by Claudia Rivers - Last Updated Feb 9, 2011
A few primary sources for the study of the history of the American Civil War
Environmental writing
by Claudia Rivers - Last Updated Nov 3, 2009
Lists collections that may include primary sources that could be used for research on the environment
History Seminar - Chicano History
by Claudia Rivers - Last Updated Feb 21, 2012
Lists resources for Mexican American history
History Seminar - Progressive Era
by Claudia Rivers - Last Updated Jan 30, 2013
Primary source materials in the UTEP Library's Special Collections for the study of the Progressive Era and Inter-War years
History seminar - The Great Depression
by Claudia Rivers - Last Updated Jan 31, 2011
Primary sources for the history of the great depression
History seminar--Native Americans
by Claudia Rivers - Last Updated Jan 28, 2010
MAUS
by Claudia Rivers - Last Updated Oct 5, 2012
The Holocaust, memory, and art
Mexican Americans - History
by Claudia Rivers - Last Updated Feb 9, 2010
Examples of primary source materials for the history of Mexican Americans
Mexican Revolution Sources
by Claudia Rivers - Last Updated Sep 28, 2011
Contains information about resources in the UTEP Library for the Mexican Revolution
Primary Sources
by Claudia Rivers - Last Updated Oct 7, 2009
Sociology/Anthropology/Human Geography
by Claudia Rivers - Last Updated Jul 9, 2012
List of basic and recommended resources for the subject area
THE PACIFIC WORLD:
by Claudia Rivers - Last Updated Sep 17, 2012
A Junior-Senior History Seminar taught by Brad Cartwright, PhD.
UTEP History
by Claudia Rivers, Joy Urbina - Last Updated May 20, 2013
Resources for the history of the University of Texas at El Paso formerly known as Texas Western College, Texas State School of Mines and College of Mines, and University of Texas State School of Mines and Metallurgy.
African American Studies
by Juan Sandoval - Last Updated Jul 3, 2012
Art
by Juan Sandoval - Last Updated Jul 3, 2012
Art resources available at the Library
Chicano Studies
by Juan Sandoval - Last Updated Jul 3, 2012
A collection of online and print resources to help you begin your research in Chicano Studies.
AMA Style Citation
by Health Science Team - Last Updated Oct 29, 2011
Guide to help students using the AMA style manual.
Anatomy
by Health Science Team - Last Updated Jan 25, 2013
APA Style Citation
by Health Science Team - Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
Guide to help students using the APA Style Manual
CHSC 6304
by Health Science Team - Last Updated May 7, 2012
Clinical Laboratory Science
by Health Science Team - Last Updated Jan 25, 2013
Evidence Based Medicine
by Health Science Team - Last Updated Oct 29, 2011
A guide to help you find Evidence Based Medicine resources.
Graduate School for Psychology Majors
by Health Science Team - Last Updated Oct 29, 2011
Resources to help psychology majors learn more about graduate school
Health Promotion
by Health Science Team - Last Updated May 15, 2013
Health Sciences Websites
by Health Science Team - Last Updated May 7, 2012
Links to helpful resources in the field of health sciences.
Kinesiology 5361- Biomechanics
by Health Science Team - Last Updated May 7, 2012
Kinesiology Selected Resources
by Health Science Team - Last Updated Jan 25, 2013
links to relevant resources
Legislative Process
by Health Science Team - Last Updated Oct 29, 2011
Links to sites for tracking legislation and finding statues and regulations
Nursing
by Health Science Team - Last Updated May 14, 2013
Guide to searching nursing-related resources.
Nursing Informatics: NURS 4303
by Health Science Team - Last Updated May 15, 2013
Occupational Therapy
by Health Science Team - Last Updated Feb 11, 2013
Guide to occupational therapy-related resources.
Pharmacology
by Health Science Team - Last Updated Oct 30, 2012
Physical Therapy
by Health Science Team - Last Updated May 14, 2013
Public Health
by Health Science Team - Last Updated May 7, 2012
Resources for students in the area of public health.
Public Policy and Legislation
by Health Science Team - Last Updated Oct 29, 2011
Guide to for information on public policy and legislative process.
PubMed - What's New?
by Health Science Team - Last Updated Jul 6, 2012
A brief survey of the new changes in PubMed made in late 2009 accompanied with some hands on tutorials.
Rehabilitation Counseling
by Health Science Team - Last Updated Jan 10, 2013
Guide for searching rehabilitation counseling-related resources.
Social Work
by Health Science Team - Last Updated May 21, 2013
Guide to searching social work-related resources
SOWK5381: Multicultural Macro Practice 1
by Health Science Team - Last Updated Jul 9, 2012
Reading list for SOWK5381
Speech-Language Pathology
by Health Science Team - Last Updated Aug 24, 2012
Research guide for speech-language pathology.
Criminal Justice
by Elizabeth Torres - Last Updated May 21, 2013
EndNote Web
by Miner Guides, Elizabeth Torres - Last Updated Mar 26, 2013
ENGL 1313: Writing About Literature
by Elizabeth Torres - Last Updated Feb 23, 2012
ENGL 1313: Writing About Literature
by Elizabeth Torres - Last Updated Feb 23, 2012
English 1311 & 1312 Research
by Angela Lucero, Elizabeth Torres - Last Updated Mar 15, 2013
A how-to guide to resources most useful for conducting research for English 1312
How Do I ...
by Angela Lucero, Elizabeth Torres - Last Updated May 20, 2013
HSCI 3322: Sports Nutrition
by Elizabeth Torres - Last Updated Jun 18, 2012
Newspapers
by Miner Guides, Elizabeth Torres - Last Updated Feb 11, 2013
RefWorks
by Sebastian Diaz, Elizabeth Torres - Last Updated Mar 29, 2013
Social Work Saturday
by Elizabeth Torres - Last Updated Apr 20, 2013
UNIV 1301: Experiencing Poverty
by Elizabeth Torres - Last Updated Oct 15, 2012
Upward Bound- History
by Angela Lucero, Elizabeth Torres - Last Updated Jun 12, 2012
UTEP Library
by Elizabeth Torres - Last Updated Dec 14, 2012
Cataloging Training and Files
by Joy Urbina - Last Updated Jan 23, 2013
All files to aid and help new Cat Students in training.
Rhetoric and Writing
by Nancy Hill, Jason W. Moore, Joy Urbina - Last Updated Nov 11, 2011
Short cuts and research tips for Rhetoric and Writing students
UTEP History
by Claudia Rivers, Joy Urbina - Last Updated May 20, 2013
Resources for the history of the University of Texas at El Paso formerly known as Texas Western College, Texas State School of Mines and College of Mines, and University of Texas State School of Mines and Metallurgy.
Children's Collection Development Policy
by Lisa Weber - Last Updated Mar 27, 2012
Finding Children's Books and Resources
by Lisa Weber - Last Updated Jul 20, 2011
Finding children's literature (books and other resources) using the UTEP library collections.
Humanities
by Abbie Weiser - Last Updated Jul 5, 2012
A guide to Resources in Humanities

Receive Email Updates

Receive email alerts whenever guides of interest to you are published.

Register for Email Alerts

Featured Librarian

Profile Image
Sol Maria Lopez
Contact Info
Need help finding resources? Feel free to contact me by phone, email, or in person. I'm located in Library Rm. 102 ; (915) 747-6703
Send Email
Subjects:
Psychology

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |